North Carolina Picked to Repeat as ACC Champion

Tar Heels edge out Florida State in a battle for the top spot

GREENSBORO, N.C. – North Carolina has been chosen to repeat as the Atlantic Coast Conference volleyball champion in a vote by the league’s 15 head coaches.

The Tar Heels accumulated a total of 190 out of a possible 196 points. First-place votes were awarded 14 points, second place received 13 points, etc. Coaches were not allowed to include their own team in their predicted order of finish. 

North Carolina surpassed second place Florida State (189) by the narrowest of margins, while Duke (167), Miami (156) and Louisville (135) rounded out the top five. Virginia’s 125 points were enough to edge Pitt (124) for sixth place, while Virginia Tech’s 108 points placed it ahead of Notre Dame (79), Georgia Tech (74) and Syracuse (68). NC State (48), Clemson (41), Boston College (38) and Wake Forest (33) completed the poll.

A total of 10 teams are represented on the 2015 Preseason All-ACC Team. North Carolina, Florida State and Duke lead all schools with three selections apiece, followed by Louisville and Miami with two selections each. Notre Dame, Pitt, Syracuse, Virginia and Virginia Tech all have one selection.

Fourteen of the 18 selections were voted to the 2014 All-ACC Team, while nine were selected to their respective all-region teams. This year’s squad features AVCA Second Team All-American Nicole Walch of Florida State, along with seven others that were named Honorable Mention All-America by the American Volleyball Coaches Association.

North Carolina finished 29-3 overall and 17-1 in conference action in 2014 and posted a 20-game win streak during ACC and NCAA play. The Tar Heels were defeated by national semifinalist Texas in the regional final round of the NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship. 

The 2015 season gets underway on Friday, Aug. 28, with 14 of the conference’s teams in action. The 2015 ACC volleyball champion will be determined by the final regular season standings, with that team receiving an automatic bid to the 2015 NCAA Division I Volleyball Championship. 

2015 ACC Volleyball Predicted Order of Finish 
1. North Carolina (190 points, 8 first place votes)
2. Florida State (189, 7)
3. Duke (167)
4. Miami (156)
5. Louisville (135)
6. Virginia (125)
7. Pitt (124)
8. Virginia Tech (108)
9. Notre Dame (79)
10. Georgia Tech (74)
11. Syracuse (68)
12. NC State (48)
13. Clemson(41)
14. Boston College (38)
15. Wake Forest (33)

2015 Preseason All-ACC Team
Sasha Karelov, Jr., DS/L, Duke
Emily Sklar, Sr., OH, Duke
Jordan Tucker, Jr., MB, Duke
Sarah Burrington, R-Jr., MB, Florida State
Katie Horton, Jr., OH, Florida State
Nicole Walch, Sr., OH, Florida State
Erin Fairs, Sr., OH, Louisville
Katie George, Sr., S, Louisville
Olga Strantzali, So., OH, Miami
Haley Templeton, So., S, Miami
Victoria McPherson, Sr., MB, North Carolina
Paige Neuenfeldt, Sr., MB, North Carolina
Taylor Treacy, R-Jr., OH/Opp, North Carolina
Sam Fry, So., MB/RS, Notre Dame
Amanda Orchard, Sr., MH, Pitt
Silvi Uattara, Sr., OH, Syracuse
Lauren Fuller, Sr., S, Virginia
Lindsey Owens, Jr., OH, Virginia Tech