Nine From ACCWSoccer Schools Named to U.S. World Cup Roster

PHOTO: Former players from current ACC schools account for four of the seven midfielders on the roster.

North Carolina, Virginia and Notre Dame represented

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( –  Nine former student-athletes representing three Atlantic Coast Conference institutions were named to the 23-woman U.S. Women’s National Team roster for the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup that will be held in Canada (June 6-July 5). It was announced Tuesday by U.S. Women’s National Team Head Coach Jill Ellis.

North Carolina’s Lori Chalupny , Whitney Engen, Ashlyn Harris, Tobin Heath, Meghan Klingenberg and Heather O’Reilly are all headed to Canada, as well as Virginia’s Morgan Brian and Becky Sauerbrunn.

In addition to the eight former ACC players, Notre Dame’s Shannon Box was named to her fourth Women’s World Cup roster.

The ACC’s nine players named to the roster leads all conferences.

This summer, the USA will face Australia, Sweden and Nigeria in Group D at the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup. The USA opens against Australia on June 8 at Winnipeg Stadium, followed by Sweden on June 12 in Winnipeg and Nigeria on June 16 at BC Place in Vancouver.

The 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup runs from June 6-July 5 and all 52 games will be shown live on FOX, FOX Sports 1, FOX Sports 2 and on tablets and mobile devices through the FOX Sports GO app and

2015 United States FIFA Women’s World Cup Roster By Position: (Detailed Roster) (ACC players bolded)
GOALKEEPERS (3): Ashlyn Harris* (Washington Spirit), Alyssa Naeher* (Boston Breakers), Hope Solo*** (Seattle Reign FC)

DEFENDERS (8): Lori Chalupny** (Chicago Red Stars), Whitney Engen* (Western NY Flash), Julie Johnston* (Chicago Red Stars), Meghan Klingenberg* (Houston Dash), Ali Krieger** (Washington Spirit), Kelley O’Hara** (Sky Blue FC), Christie Rampone***** (Sky Blue FC), Becky Sauerbrunn** (FC Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Shannon Boxx**** (Chicago Red Stars), Morgan Brian* (Houston Dash), Tobin Heath** (Portland Thorns FC), Lauren Holiday** (FC Kansas City), Carli Lloyd*** (Houston Dash), Heather O’Reilly*** (FC Kansas City), Megan Rapinoe** (Seattle Reign FC)

FORWARDS (5): Sydney Leroux* (Western NY Flash), Alex Morgan** (Portland Thorns FC), Christen Press* (Chicago Red Stars), Amy Rodriguez** (FC Kansas City), Abby Wambach**** (unattached)

*        First Women’s World Cup
**       Second Women’s World Cup
***     Third Women’s World Cup
****   Fourth Women’s World Cup
*****  Fifth Women’s World Cup