Record-Tying Nine #ACCWGolf Teams Earn NCAA Tournament Bids

Duke No. 2 Seed in South Bend Regional; ACC Champion Virginia No. 3 Seed in St. George Regional

GREENSBORO, N.C. -- For the second-straight year, nine Atlantic Coast Conference women’s golf teams have earned bids to the 2015 NCAA Championships, the NCAA Women’s Golf Selection Committee announced Monday on its annual selection show.

The nine regional invitations tie the league’s previous best set a year ago. All nine ACC schools will begin the three-day, 54-hole NCAA Regional competition on May 7.

Ninth-ranked Virginia, which captured its first ever ACC Championship a week ago in Greensboro, was named the No. 3 seed in the St. George (Utah) Regional which is hosted by Brigham Young University. The Cavaliers will be joined in Utah by 32nd-ranked Miami, which earned the regional’s No. 8 seed.

Defending national champion Duke, which finished second to the Cavaliers at the ACC Championship, was named the No. 2 seed in the South Bend (Ind.) Regional, which will be hosted by Notre Dame at the Warren Golf Course.

The Blue Devils will be joined by four other ACC schools in No. 13 Wake Forest, No. 30 Notre Dame, No. 40 Louisville and No. 52 North Carolina. The Deacons are seeded fourth, the Irish eighth, the Cardinals 11th and the Tar Heels 13th.

NC State was selected to play in the Raleigh Regional, which will be hosted by the Wolfpack and competed on the Lonnie Poole Golf Course in Raleigh, North Carolina. The 41st-ranked Wolfpack are seeded 11th.

Florida State, ranked 29th nationally, will play in the San Antonio Regional, which will be hosted by University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA) at the Briggs Ranch Golf Club. The Seminoles are a No. 8 seed.

A total of six teams and three individuals not from those teams each Regional will advance to the NCAA National Championship, which will be held May 22-27 at the Concession Golf Club in Bradenton, Florida.