Nine ACC Men’s Golf Teams Earn NCAA Bids

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Nine Atlantic Coast Conference teams have earned bids to the 2016 NCAA Men’s Golf Championship, the selection committee announced Thursday morning.

The nine league representatives is the second most from any conference and is tied for the second most in conference history. It marks the 10th time in the last 11 years that at least eight teams have earned a bid.

Led by ACC Champion Clemson, three league teams will be competing at the Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, Oklahoma. The Tigers are seeded No. 2, and will be joined by No. 4 Duke and No. 10 Louisville.

No. 2 Wake Forest, No. 5 North Carolina, and No. 8 Georgia Tech are headed to Marana, Arizona, and will play at the Gallery Golf Club.

Virginia is seeded fifth at the Vanderbilt Legends Club. Virginia Tech’s Joey Lane will be competing as an individual at the regional held in Franklin, Tennessee.

Florida State is the third ACC team to earn a No. 2 seed, and opens NCAA play at Blackwolf Run Meadow Valleys Course in Kohler, Wisconsin.

NC State is seeded No. 6 at the regional held at the Championship Course at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 16-18. Thirteen teams and ten individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals.

Team and individual medalist titles will be decided May 27-June 1 at Eugene Country Club in Eugene, Oregon. The University of Oregon is the host institution for the 2016 championships.

ACC Men’s Golf in the 2016 NCAA Men’s Golf Regionals

Blackwolf Run Meadow Valleys Course – Kohler, Wisconsin
Hosted By Marquette University
2. Florida State

Championship Course At University Of New Mexico – Albuquerque, New Mexico
Hosted By University Of New Mexico
6. NC State

Gallery Golf Club – Marana, Arizona
Hosted By University Of Arizona
2. Wake Forest
5. North Carolina
8. Georgia Tech

Karsten Creek Golf Club – Stillwater, Oklahoma
Hosted By Oklahoma State University
2. Clemson
4. Duke
10. Louisville

Vanderbilt Legends Club – Franklin, Tennessee
Hosted By Vanderbilt University
5. Virginia
7. Joey Lane, Virginia Tech