Nine ACC Golfers Start Play at the Masters on Thursday

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Nine golfers representing five Atlantic Coast Conference schools are set to begin play at the 2015 Masters Tournament, held in Augusta, Georgia, April 9-12. The nine from the ACC is tied for the second most from any conference in the country. 

Georgia Tech has the most former golfers from the ACC with three: Matt Kuchar, Cameron Tringale, and Larry Mize, the 1987 Masters champion who is making his 32nd appearance in the tournament. This will be the ninth time at the Masters for Kuchar, and the debut for Tringale.

Jonas Blixt and Brooks Koepka are former Florida State Seminoles in the 2015 field. This is the first Masters for Koepka, while Blixt made his debut last year.

Blixt and Kuchar both posted top-five finishes in 2014, with Blixt finishing tied for second at 5-under and Kuchar tied for fifth at 2-under.

Wake Forest’s Webb Simpson, the 2012 US Open champion, and Bill Haas will represent the Demon Deacons at the Masters.

Two more former ACC golfers round out the league contingent. Clemson’s Ben Martin is in in the field for the second time in his career, while Duke’s Kevin Streelman is making his fourth appearance.

Of the nine ACC golfers, Kuchar leads the way at No. 16 in the Official World Golf Ranking. No. 19 Koepka, No. 26 Haas, and No. 45 Simpson also hold spots in the top 50.

Four golfers from current ACC schools have won a combined seven Masters. Wake Forest’s Arnold Palmer has won four times, which is tied for the second-most in history with Stanford’s Tiger Woods behind only Ohio State’s Jack Nicklaus with six. Duke’s Art Wall, Jr., Georgia Tech’s Mize, and North Carolina’s Raymond Floyd have also been victorious in Augusta.

The 2015 tournament gets underway Thursday morning at 7:45 a.m.

Former ACC Golfers at the 2015 Masters (Thursday Tee Times)

Ben Martin, Clemson (11:25 a.m.)

Kevin Streelman, Duke (8:51 a.m.)

Jonas Blixt, Florida State (8:51 a.m.)

Brooks Koepka, Florida State (1:04 p.m.)

Larry Mize, Georgia Tech (7:56 a.m.)

Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech (11:25 a.m.)

Matt Kuchar, Georgia Tech (1:04 p.m.)

Bill Haas, Wake Forest (10:08 a.m.)

Webb Simpson, Wake Forest (10:19 a.m.)