McKay, Haseley Named John Olerud Award Finalists

LUBBOCK, Texas – The finalists for the 2016 John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award were announced today, and two of the three finalists – Louisville’s Brendan McKay and Virginia’s Adam Haseley – are from the ACC. The award goes to the nation's top player who plays in the field as well as contributes to his team's success on the mound.

The award, presented by the National College Baseball Hall of Fame, is named for the former Washington State University standout who achieved success both as a first baseman and left-handed pitcher during the late 1980s and who was inducted into the National College Baseball Hall of Fame in 2007. The award will be presented as part of the Hall of Fame's annual Night of Champions celebration July 2 in Lubbock.

McKay, a sophomore and the reigning award winner from 2015, led his team the farthest in the NCAA postseason, reaching the Super Regional round before being knocked out by upstart UC-Santa Barbara. The sophomore from Darlington, Pennsylvania, finished the season hitting .333 with six home runs and 41 RBIs at the plate, while going 12-4 with a 2.30 ERA and 128 strikeouts in 109 2/3 innings. He will pitch for the USA Baseball Collegiate National Team for the second straight season after leading Louisville to the ACC regular-season championship.

Haseley, also a sophomore, had an equally impressive season for the defending national champion Cavaliers. The Windermere, Florida, native hit .304 with six home runs and 37 RBIs and went 9-3 on the mound with a 1.73 ERA and 48 strikeouts in 78 innings, helping lead Virginia to the NCAA tournament where they hosted a regional.

For more information on the Olerud Award or the National College Baseball Hall of Fame's Night of Champions, visit