Matchups for the Ninth Annual Big Ten/ACC Challenge Announced

Challenge games slated for Dec. 2 and Dec. 3

Graphic | Video

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The Atlantic Coast Conference and the Big Ten Conference announced on Wednesday the matchups for the 2015 Big Ten/ACC Women’s Basketball Challenge. This year’s challenge will mark the ninth straight year of the event that pits two perennial strong conferences against each other.

All 14 Big Ten teams and 14 of the 15 ACC teams will participate in the 2015 Challenge.

Challenge games will be played in a two-day format beginning on Wednesday, Dec. 2. The seven-game slate on Dec. 2 includes home games for Miami (vs Illinois), North Carolina (vs. Northwestern),  Notre Dame (vs. Ohio State), Virginia (vs Iowa) and Wake Forest (vs Wisconsin), while Georgia Tech (at Indiana) and Syracuse (at Maryland) will be on the road. On Thursday, Dec. 3, Duke (vs. Minnesota) and Florida State (vs. Rutgers) will host Big Ten opponents, and Boston College (at Purdue), Louisville (at Michigan State), NC State (at Nebraska), Pittsburgh (at Michigan) and Virginia Tech (at Penn State) visit their inter-conference foes.

A year ago, the ACC and the Big Ten tied, each winning seven games, to mark only the second tie in Challenge history. The ACC owns a 55-39 edge over the Big Ten in Challenge games and six Challenge titles. 

The ACC and Big Ten conference offices determine the schedule each season, and the official title of the Challenge rotates each year. The 2015 event will be referred to as the Big Ten/ACC Women's Basketball Challenge and will continue to mirror the official title of the two conferences' Challenge agreement for men's basketball.

The ACC and the Big Ten have long been among the most competitive conferences on the women's basketball scene. Since 1982, current members of the ACC (20) and the Big Ten (14) have combined for 34 berths in the Final Four and have combined for 420 total appearances in the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship.

Last season, the ACC sent 11 teams to postseason play, including a league-record tying eight teams in the NCAA Women’s Basketball Championship – the most of any conference this year. Notre Dame earned a No. 1 seed and advanced to the Final Four for the seventh time in program history. The Big Ten had eight teams in postseason play and saw Maryland earn a berth in the Final Four.

Game times, as well as television coverage, will be announced at a later date. 

2015 Big Ten/ACC Challenge Schedule

Wednesday, Dec. 2
Illinois at Miami
Georgia Tech at Indiana
Iowa at Virginia
Syracuse at Maryland
Northwestern at North Carolina
Ohio State at Notre Dame
Wisconsin at Wake Forest

Thursday, Dec. 3
Pittsburgh at Michigan
Louisville at Michigan State
Minnesota at Duke
NC State at Nebraska
Virginia Tech at Penn State
Boston College at Purdue
Rutgers at Florida State