MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists Named

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Five Atlantic Coast Conference men’s soccer players and two women have been named semifinalists for the 2014 MAC Hermann Trophy announced today by the NSCAA.

Among the 15 men’s semifinalists are Clemson’s Paul Clowes and Kyle Fisher, North Carolina’s Jonathan Campbell, Syracuse’s Julian Buescher, and Wake Forest’s Jack Harrison. Harrison, Clowes, and Fisher were all named ACC Players of the Year, while all five garnered First Team All-ACC accolades.

On the women’s side, Florida State’s Megan Connolly, the ACC Midfielder and Freshman of the Year, and Virginia’s Emily Sonnett, the Defensive Player of the Year, are listed.

ACC men have claimed soccer’s top honor 17 times, while the women have done so 12 times, including each the last three seasons (Morgan Brian, Virginia, 2013-14; Crystal Dunn, North Carolina, 2012).

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual intercollegiate award administered by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, and presented annually at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis. This year’s trophy presentation and banquet will take place Friday, Jan. 8.

Soccer fans can also let their collective voice be heard by voting for their favorite player on the MAC’s website hosted by LockerDome, starting Tuesday, Dec. 1.

Six finalists (three men, three women) will be named finalists on Friday, Dec. 11 during the 2015 NCAA Men’s College Cup in Cary, N.C.

For more information about the history of the MAC Hermann Trophy and a list of past winners, visit the MAC Hermann Trophy page at For news and highlight reels from previous MAC Hermann presentations, visit

ACC MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists
Paul Clowes, Sr., M, Clemson
Kyle Fisher, Sr., D, Clemson
Jonathan Campbell, Sr., D, North Carolina
Julian Buescher, So, M, Syracuse
Jack Harrison, Fr., M, Wake Forest

Megan Connolly, Fr., M, Florida State
Emily Sonnett, Sr., D, Virginia