MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists Announced

The ACC men and women combine for six semifinalists 

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Four Atlantic Coast Conference men’s soccer players and two women have been named semifinalists for the 2016 MAC Hermann Trophy announced today by the NSCAA.

Among the 15 men’s semifinalists are Louisville’s Tim Kubel, Syracuse’s Miles Robinson, and Wake Forest’s Ian Harkes and Jacori Hayes. The four semifinalists from the ACC are the most from any league. Harkes was named the ACC Midfielder of the Year and Miles was voted as Defensive Player of the Year, while all four earned All-ACC First Team Honors.

On the women’s side, Duke’s Christina Gibbons and Virginia’s Alexis Shaffer are listed. Gibbons was named the league’s ACC Defensive Player of the Year, while Shaffer collected ACC Offensive Player and Midfielder of the Year honors. 

ACC men have claimed soccer’s top honor 17 times, while the women have done so 12 times, including three of the last four seasons (Morgan Brian, Virginia, 2013-14; Crystal Dunn, North Carolina, 2012).

The MAC Hermann Trophy, the most coveted individual honor in NCAA Division I soccer, has been awarded annually since 1967.

Three men’s finalists and three women’s finalists will be named on December 14 at the conclusion of voting by NCAA Division I soccer coaches. The 2016 MAC Hermann Trophy banquet will be held at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on January 6, 2017 to formally announce this year’s winners.

For more information about the history of the MAC Hermann Trophy, visit

ACC MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists
Ian Harkes, Sr., M, Wake Forest University
Jacori Hayes, Sr., M, Wake Forest University
Tim Kubel, Jr., D, University Of Louisville
Miles Robinson, So., D, Syracuse University
Christina Gibbons, Sr., D, Duke
Alexis Shaffer, Sr., M, Virginia