Florida State’s Cameron Erving Repeats As ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy Recipient


Senior’s honor is the 10th for a Seminole lineman

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Florida State’s Cameron Erving has been voted the Jacobs Blocking Trophy winner for the second consecutive season, Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford announced Sunday. With Erving’s selection, six Seminole offensive linemen have now claimed the honor a combined 10 times.

The Jacobs Blocking Trophy has been awarded annually since 1953 to the player chosen the most outstanding blocker in the ACC by a vote of each school’s head coach or defensive coordinator. The trophy is given in memory of William P. Jacobs, who served as president of Presbyterian College from 1935 to 1945. The trophy will be presented at the ACC’s Night of Legends event, which will be held this Friday (5:30 p.m.) at the Charlotte Convention Center as part of festivities held around the Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game.

Erving, a 6-5, 308-pound redshirt senior from Moultrie, Georgia, earned this year’s honor after playing two offensive line positions for the top-ranked and unbeaten Seminoles over the course of the season. After starting 37 consecutive career games at left tackle, he moved to center for Florida State’s road game at Miami on Nov. 15. He did not allow a sack and had the highest grade on the offensive line in the Seminoles’ 30-26 win.

Erving was voted the ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week following his performance against Miami. The honor was his second of the season, as he was also recognized for his play at left tackle following Florida State’s 42-31 win over Louisville on Oct. 30. Following the Miami game, Erving remained at center for the Seminoles’ final two regular-season wins over Boston College and Florida.

“For Cam to win the Jacobs again for the second straight year is a tremendous accomplishment and very well deserving,” Florida State head coach Jimbo Fisher said. “His versatility from tackle to center and all the things he does for our line from the leadership and experience really makes him one of the great ones out there.”

This marks just the third season that Erving has played on the offensive line. He played on the defensive line in 2011 before switching to the offensive side of the ball.  Erving amassed 22 total points in the coaches’ voting to capture the 61st ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy (no award was given in 1996). Duke’s Laken Tomlinson placed second in the voting with 15 points, followed by Pitt’s T.J. Clemmings with 12 and Georgia Tech’s Shaquille Mason with nine. In all, 13 different ACC offensive linemen received votes in the balloting.

Erving started all 12 regular-season games in 2014 and has made 40 consecutive starts on the offensive line dating back to 2012.  His play this season has helped Florida State average close to 35 points per game and lead the ACC in passing offense (299.1 yards per game).

He is the sixth Florida State player to be named a recipient of the Jacobs Blocking Trophy, and becomes the fourth to win the award multiple times. Guard Rodney Hudson (2009 and 2010), tackle Brett Williams (2001 and 2002) and center Clay Shiver (1994 and 1995) were other FSU two-time recipients. Tackles Tra Thomas (1997) and Tarlos Thomas (2000) were each honored once.

Previous Winners of the ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy
1953     Bill Wohrman, FB, South Carolina
1954     Bill Wohrman, FB, South Carolina
1955     Bob Pellegrini, C, Maryland
1956     Hal McElhaney, FB, Duke
1957     Hal McElhaney, FB, Duke
1958     John Saunders, FB, South Carolina
1959     Doug Cline, FB, Clemson
1960     Dwight Bumgarner, T, Duke
1961     Art Gregory, T, Duke
            Jim LeCompte, G, North Carolina
1962     Art Gregory, T, Duke
1963     Chuck Walker,T, Duke
1964     Eddie Kesler, FB, North Carolina
1965     John McNabb, G, Duke
1966     Wayne Mass, T, Clemson
1967     Harry Olszewski, G, Clemson
1968     Greg Shelly, T, Virginia
1969     Ralph Sonntag, T, Maryland
1970     Dan Ryczek, C, Virginia
1971     Geoff Hamlin, FB, North Carolina
1972     Ron Rusnak, G, North Carolina
1973     Bill Yoest, G, NC State
1974     Ken Huff, G, North Carolina
1975     Billy Bryan, C, Duke
1976     Billy Bryan, C, Duke
1977     Joe Bostic, G, Clemson
1978     Jim Ritcher, C, NC State
1979     Jim Ritcher, C, NC State
1980     Ron Wooten, G, North Carolina
1981     Lee Nanney, T, Clemson
1982     Dave Pacella, T, Maryland
1983     James Farr, G, Clemson
1984     Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia
1985     Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia
1986     Paul Kiser, G, Wake Forest
1987     John Phillips, G, Clemson
1988     Jeff Garnica, C, North Carolina
1989     Chris Port, T, Duke
1990     Ray Roberts, T, Virginia
1991     Ray Roberts, T, Virginia
1992     Ben Coleman, T, Wake Forest
1993     Mark Dixon, G,  Virginia
1994     Clay Shiver, C, Florida State
1995     Clay Shiver, C, Florida State
1996     no recipient
1997     Tra Thomas, T, Florida State
1998     Craig Page, C, Georgia Tech
1999     John St. Clair, C, Virginia
2000     Tarlos Thomas, T,  Florida State
2001     Brett Williams, T, Florida State
2002     Brett Williams, T, Florida State
2003     Elton Brown, G, Virginia
2004     Elton Brown,  G, Virginia
2005     Eric Winston, T, Miami
2006     Josh Beekman, G-C, Boston College
2007     Steve Justice, C, Wake Forest
2008     Eugene Monroe, T, Virginia
2009     Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State
2010     Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State
2011     Blake DeChristopher, T, Virginia Tech
2012     Jonathan Cooper, G, North Carolina
2013     Cameron Erving, T, Florida State
2014     Cameron Erving, T-C, Florida State