Hyundai Sun Bowl: Miami (FL) vs Washington State

2015 Hyundai Sun Bowl

Miami (FL) vs Washington State

Stadium: Sun Bowl Stadium

Date: Dec. 26, 2:00 p.m. on ESPN

Location: El Paso, Texas

Capacity: 51,500

ACC record in Sun Bowl: 5-7

The 2015 Hyundai Sun Bowl will mark the 82nd anniversary of the Sun Bowl and the 48th consecutive broadcast on CBS. The game features selections from the ACC and Pac-12 conferences.

The first Sun Bowl was played on January 1st, 1935. The Sun Bowl is tied for the second-oldest bowl game in the country with the Sugar Bowl and Orange Bowl. 

The Sun Bowl is in the second year of six-year contracts with the ACC and the Pac-12 conferences. The current selection order for each conference is:

ACC Selections Order:

College Football Playoff

Russell Athletic Bowl versus Big 12 #3

Bowl Selections pool (all have equal selection status get picks #3-6)

  • Belk Bowl versus SEC
  • Hyundai Sun Bowl versus Pac-12 #5
  • New Era Pinstripe Bowl versus Big Ten
  • Music City Bowl or the TaxSlayer Bowl versus SEC

From 2014-19, the Music City and TaxSlayer will each get ACC team three times. TaxSlayer has ACC priority this year after Music City used ACC in 2014.

Date Result Game MVP
December 27, 2014 Arizona State: 36, Duke: 31 Demario Richard, RB, ASU
December 31, 2013 UCLA: 42, Virginia Tech: 12 Brett Hundley, QB, UCLA
December 31, 2012 Georgia Tech: 21, USC: 7 Rod Sweeting, CB, GT
December 31, 2011 Utah: 30, Georgia Tech: 27 (OT) John White IV, RB, Utah
December 31, 2010 Notre Dame: 33, Miami: 17 Michael Floyd, WR, ND