Georgia Tech's Christopher Eubanks Headlines 2016 All-ACC Men's Tennis Team

Wake Forest’s Petros Chrysochos Named Freshman of the Year; Deacons’ Tony Bresky Named Coach of the Year

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Georgia Tech’s Christopher Eubanks has been selected as the 2016 Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Tennis Player of the Year and headlines the 2016 All-ACC Team announced on Thursday.

Petros Chrysochos of Wake Forest was named Freshman of the Year, and the Demon Deacons’ Tony Bresky took home Coach of the Year honors, after guiding the program to its first-ever ACC Championship.

The All-ACC Team and individual season honors were selected by a vote of the league’s 13 head coaches.

Eubanks is the first Yellow Jacket to be voted Player of the Year since Guillermo Gomez in 2011, and the fifth overall. A native of Atlanta, Georgia, the sophomore has compiled a 32-6 record in singles, including an 11-1 mark in ACC play, from his No. 1 singles position. Eubanks has been in the top 15 of the ITA Singles Rankings all season, and has been ranked as high as No. 6. An All-ACC Second Team selection in 2015, and has defeated a dozen ranked opponents this year. In doubles, Eubanks has paired with teammate Carlos Benito to compile a 14-3 record, and they are currently No. 42 in the ITA Rankings.

The second-straight Demon Deacon to be named Freshman of the Year after Noah Rubin in 2015, Chrysochos has been ranked as high as No. 19 in the ITA Rankings in singles. Hailing from Larnaca, Cyprus, the freshman was 17-0 in the regular season from his No. 2 position in singles, including a 10-0 mark in ACC play. Chrysochos partnered with teammate Jon Ho in doubles to compile a 15-7 record, including a 4-3 mark against ranked opponents.

In his fifth year at the helm for Wake Forest, Bresky lead the Deacons to their first ever ACC Championship, and was named Coach of the Year. Bresky was previously named Coach of the Year in 2013, when Wake Forest was the ACC runner-up. Under his watch this season, the Deacons set a school record for wins with 29, including 21 wins over ranked opponents.

The All-ACC team has representatives from twelve institutions, led by Virginia’s six selections. North Carolina and Virginia Tech each had four student-athletes voted All-ACC, while NC State and Wake Forest each had three honorees. Florida State, Georgia Tech and Notre Dame had to All-ACC selections, and there was one honoree each for Clemson, Duke, Miami and Louisville.

Andreas Bjerrehus and Amerigo Contini of Virginia Tech were named All-ACC for the fourth time in their careers. North Carolina’s Brett Clark, Ronnie Schneider and Brayden Schnur, Notre Dame’s Quentin Monaghan, Virginia’s Ryan Shane and Thai-Son Kwiatkowski, Virginia Tech’s Joao Monteiro and Wake Forest’s Romain Bogaerts all picked up their third All-ACC honors, while four were selected for the second time in their careers.

Individual Award Winners
Player of the Year, Christopher Eubanks, So., Georgia Tech
Freshman of the Year, Petros Chysochos, Wake Forest
Coach of the Year, Tony Bresky, Wake Forest

All-ACC First Team
Christopher Eubanks @, So., Georgia Tech
Benjamin Lock @, Sr., Florida State
Ryan Shane #, Sr., Virginia
Skander Mansouri, So., Wake Forest
Nicolas Alvarez @, So., Duke
Brayden Schnur #, Jr., North Carolina
Joao Monteiro #, Sr., Virginia Tech
Ronnie Schneider #, Jr., North Carolina
Quentin Monaghan #, Sr., Notre Dame

All-ACC Second Team
Petros Chrysochos, Fr., Wake Forest
Thai-Son Kwiatkowski #, Jr., Virginia
Piotr Lomacki, So., Miami
Collin Altamirano @, So., Virginia
Simon Norenius, Sr., NC State
Marco Nunez, Sr., Florida State
Brett Clark #, Sr., North Carolina
Andreas Bjerrehus !, Sr., Virginia Tech
Alex Favrot, Fr., Clemson

All-ACC Third Team
Carlos Benito, Jr., Georgia Tech
Thomas Weigel, Jr., NC State
J.C. Aragone, Jr., Virginia
Robert Kelly, So., North Carolina
Nick Horton, So., NC State
Romain Bogaerts #, Sr., Wake Forest
Amerigo Contini !, Sr., Virginia Tech
Alex Gornet, Sr., Louisville
Edoardo Tessaro, Sr., Virginia Tech
Luca Corinteli, Jr., Virginia
Henrik Wiersholm, So., Virginia
Josh Hagar, Jr., Notre Dame

@ - Two-time honoree
# - Three-time honoree
! – Four-time honoree