ACC Teams Travel to The White House

Sept. 13, 2010


Greensboro, N.C. -- During the 2009-10 season, the Atlantic Coast Conference had a record eight teams win NCAA championships and today, seven of those teams traveled to the White House for a reception with President Obama.

The reception honors student-athletes and championship teams from across the NCAA to congratulate them on both their athletic and academic accomplishments as well as community service efforts. NCAA championship teams in attendance from the ACC include:

  • Boston College Men's Ice Hockey
  • Duke University Men's Lacrosse
  • University of Maryland Women's Lacrosse
  • University of North Carolina Field Hockey
  • University of North Carolina Women's Soccer
  • University of Virginia Men's Soccer
  • University of Virginia Women's Rowing

*Duke University Men’s Basketball was honored at a separate ceremony at the White House on May 27, 2010.

2009-10 NCAA Championship Teams