ACC Announces 2011-12 Academic Honor Roll

Aug. 8, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( - The 56th annual Atlantic Coast Conference Academic Honor Roll, recognizing academic excellence by student-athletes during the 2011-12 academic year, was announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

The Honor Roll is comprised of student-athletes who participated in a varsity-level sport and registered a grade point average of 3.00 or better for the full academic year. The conference acknowledged a record 2,904 student-athletes for their hard work in the classroom during the 2011-12 academic year.

Duke led the league with an ACC-record 452 honorees, and Boston College followed with 370. Virginia was third with 291 honorees, closely followed by North Carolina with 290. Maryland saw 259 student-athletes earn honors, followed by Virginia Tech (225), NC State (209), Clemson (194), Florida State (192), Georgia Tech (149), Wake Forest (140) and Miami (133).

Headlining this year's list are 26 student-athletes that are five-time ACC Honor Roll recipients: Boston College's Irene Delagrammaticas (softball), Kristin Igoe (lacrosse), Nathan Richman (football) and Madeline Wallace (track and field); Clemson's Keegan Priest (soccer), Duke's Casey Beyel (lacrosse), Emma Hamm (lacrosse), Molly Lester (soccer) and Will Snyderwine (football); Florida State's Gonzalo Barroilhet (track and field), Parker Brunelle (baseball) and Jessica Price (soccer); Georgia Tech's Hunter Clasen (track and field), Joseph Fulton (track and field), Laura Hilton (softball), Roddy Jones (football), Mary Kownack (track and field) and Erica Penk (track and field); Maryland's Erin Cahill (acrobatics/tumbling), Meghan Dean (field hockey) and Brett Harman (baseball); North Carolina's Krista Jasper (gymnastics), NC State's Gregory Dame (cross country/track and field), Robert Moldovan (cross country/track and field) and Vance Williams (baseball), and Wake Forest's Camille Collier.

The 2011-12 Academic Honor Roll features 19 ACC Players of the Year. Those student-athletes include Clemson's April Sinkler (women's outdoor track and field); Duke's Curtis Beach (men's indoor track and field), C.J. Costabile (men's lacrosse), Lindy Duncan (women's golf), Ali McCurdy (volleyball) and Elizabeth Williams (women's basketball); Florida State's Michelle Jenije (women's indoor track and field) and James Ramsey (baseball); Maryland's Jesse Bernhardt (men's lacrosse) and Katie Schwarzmann (women's lacrosse); Miami's Lane Carico (volleyball); North Carolina's Stephanie Peacock (women's swimming), Lori Spignola (softball pitcher) and Tyler Zeller (men's basketball); NC State's Ryan Hill (cross country); Virginia Tech's Devin Carter (wrestling), Logan Shinholser (men's diving) and Alexander Ziegler (men's outdoor track and field) and Wake Forest's Katie Stengel (women's soccer).

The league saw six ACC Freshmen of the Year named to the honor roll, including Duke's Williams (women's basketball), Florida State's Colleen Quigley (women's cross country), Miami's Hannah Hawks (rowing), Virginia's Mitchell Frank (men's tennis) and Ellen Williamson (swimming) and Virginia Tech's Nick Brascetta (wrestling).