ACC Reaches All-Time High for Broadcast Coverage of Fall Olympic Sports

Aug. 3, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – The Atlantic Coast Conference announced broadcast coverage today for its Olympic sports for the upcoming fall season. The league’s media rightsholders will distribute at least 77 events live, more than double any previous fall package.

"To have a record number of live broadcast opportunities this fall is a terrific way to highlight our players, schools and conference," said ACC Commissioner John Swofford. "Our fans now have more access to ACC content than ever before and I appreciate our television partners working together to set a new standard."

Highlights of the ACC’s upcoming fall broadcast schedule include:

  • 77 games, totaling 145 school appearances – the highest count in history for ACC fall Olympic sports and more than twice as many as the previous high.
  • All of the ACC Fall Championships’ (Men’s & Women’s Soccer and Field Hockey) semifinals and championship games will be distributed live. The league’s regional sports network will carry the 2012 ACC Field Hockey semifinals on November 2 (1:00p, 3:30p) in addition to the league’s title game on November 4 at 1 p.m. ESPN3 will carry the Men’s and Women’s Soccer semifinals contests, while ESPNU will showcase the ACC Championship games on November 4 (Women’s) at 1 p.m. and on November 11 (Men’s) at Noon. The ACC does not conduct a championship event in the sport of volleyball. The two quarterfinal matches for the 2012 ACC Field Hockey Championship will also be streamed live on theACC.com.
  • A total of 50 ACC fall contests will appear on ESPN networks including six on ESPNU and 44 on ESPN3. All 50 games will also be available on the WatchESPN mobile app.
  • An additional 15 games will be broadcast on the league’s regional sports networks (RSN), which reach nearly 32 million households and include FOX Sports Carolinas, SportSouth, FOX Sports Florida, Sun Sports, Comcast SportsNet Mid-Atlantic, and NESN. All ACC games produced as part of the RSN package will also be available via WatchESPN.
  • Three additional soccer games -- two men’s games and one women’s game -- will be televised nationally on FOX Soccer as part of the NSCAA Game of the Week series.
  • As part of the ACC Digital Network’s new partnership with YouTube, four men’s and three women’s soccer games will be streamed live on the site.

In addition to the 77 events announced Friday as part of the ACC’s Olympic Sport conference package, other games will be carried by the official websites and regional cable partners of the ACC institutions. Further appearances also may be added as other conferences announce their television packages. A complete listing of those games will be released at a later date.

2012 ACC Fall Olympic Sport Broadcast Schedule
Dates and times are subject to change
 
Field Hockey
Friday, Sep 14 6:00 p.m. ODU at North Carolina ESPN3
Sunday, Sep 23 1:00 p.m. Stanford at North Carolina ESPN3
Saturday, Oct 13 1:00 p.m. Virginia at North Carolina ESPN3
Thursday, Nov 1 1:00 p.m. ACC Quarterfinal #1 theACC.com
Thursday, Nov 1 3:30 p.m. ACC Quarterfinal #2 theACC.com
Friday, Nov 2 1:00 p.m. ACC Semifinal #1 RSN
Friday, Nov 2 3:30 p.m. ACC Semifinal #2 RSN
Sunday, Nov 4 1:00 p.m. ACC Championship RSN
 
Men's Soccer
Saturday, Aug 25 7:00 p.m. Gardner-Webb at North Carolina ESPN3
Friday, Aug 31 7:30 p.m. UCLA at Maryland ESPN3
Saturday, Sep 8 7:00 p.m. Virginia Tech at North Carolina ESPN3
Friday, Sep 14 7:00 p.m. Maryland at NC State ESPN3
Friday, Sep 21 7:30 p.m. Virginia Tech at Maryland ACCDN on YouTube
Friday, Sep 21 7:00 p.m. Virginia at North Carolina FOX Soccer
Friday, Sep 28 7:00 p.m. North Carolina at Duke ACCDN on YouTube
Friday, Oct 5 6:30 p.m. Duke at NC State RSN
Friday, Oct 5 7:00 p.m. North Carolina at Clemson ESPN3
Friday, Oct 5 7:00 p.m. Virginia at Maryland FOX Soccer
Saturday, Oct 6 12:30 p.m. Boston College at Wake Forest RSN
Friday, Oct 12 7:00 p.m. NC State at Virginia Tech ACCDN on YouTube
Friday, Oct 12 7:00 p.m. Maryland at Duke RSN
Friday, Oct 19 7:00 p.m. Boston College at Duke ACCDN on YouTube
Friday, Oct 19 6:00 p.m. North Carolina at Maryland ESPNU
Friday, Oct 19 6:30 p.m. Virginia Tech at Virginia RSN
Tuesday, Oct 23 7:00 p.m. Campbell at North Carolina ESPN3
Friday, Oct 26 7:00 p.m. North Carolina at NC State ESPN3
Monday, Oct 29 7:00 p.m. VMI at NC State ESPN3
Thursday, Nov 1 7:00 p.m. Boston College at North Carolina ESPN3
Thursday, Nov 1 7:00 p.m. Maryland at Wake Forest ESPN3
Thursday, Nov 1 7:00 p.m. Virginia at NC State ESPN3
Thursday, Nov 1 7:00 p.m. Virginia Tech at Clemson ESPN3
Friday, Nov 9 5:30 p.m. ACC Semifinal #1 ESPN3
Friday, Nov 9 8:00 p.m. ACC Semifinal #2 ESPN3
Sunday, Nov 11 12:00 p.m. ACC Championship ESPNU
 
Volleyball
Friday, Sep 7 7:00 p.m. LSU at North Carolina ESPN3
Friday, Sep 7 7:30 p.m. Florida State at Miami ESPNU
Wednesday, Sep 26 6:00 p.m. Clemson at North Carolina ESPNU
Sunday, Sep 30 1:00 p.m. Wake Forest at Miami ESPN3
Friday, Oct 5 8:30 p.m. Virginia at Clemson RSN
Friday, Oct 19 7:00 p.m. Miami at Clemson ESPN3
Friday, Oct 19 8:30 p.m. Florida State at Georgia Tech RSN
Sunday, Oct 21 12:00 p.m. Florida State at Clemson ESPN3
Sunday, Oct 21 1:00 p.m. Miami at Georgia Tech RSN
Friday, Oct 26 7:00 p.m. NC State at Wake Forest ESPN3
Sunday, Oct 28 1:00 p.m. North Carolina at Wake Forest RSN
Friday, Nov 2 7:00 p.m. Miami at North Carolina ESPN3
Friday, Nov 2 7:00 p.m. Florida State at NC State ESPN3
Saturday, Nov 3 5:00 p.m. Florida State at North Carolina ESPN3
Sunday, Nov 4 1:00 p.m. Miami at NC State ESPN3
Friday, Nov 23 1:00 p.m. Miami at Florida State ESPN3
 
Women's Soccer
Friday, Aug 24 7:00 p.m. Florida at North Carolina ESPN3
Friday, Aug 31 7:00 p.m. Florida at Florida State ESPN3
Thursday, Sep 13 7:00 p.m. Duke at Florida State ESPN3
Thursday, Sep 13 7:00 p.m. Wake Forest at Miami ESPN3
Thursday, Sep 13 7:00 p.m. NC State at Virginia FOX Soccer
Sunday, Sep 16 1:00 p.m. Duke at Miami ESPN3
Thursday, Sep 20 7:00 p.m. Virginia Tech at North Carolina ESPN3
Sunday, Sep 23 1:00 p.m. Virginia at Clemson ESPN3
Thursday, Sep 27 7:00 p.m. Florida State at North Carolina ESPN3
Thursday, Sep 27 7:00 p.m. Miami at NC State ESPN3
Sunday, Sep 30 1:00 p.m. Florida State at NC State ESPN3
Sunday, Sep 30 4:00 p.m. Duke at Virginia ESPNU
Thursday, Oct 4 8:00 p.m. Boston College at North Carolina RSN
Friday, Oct 5 7:00 p.m. Wake Forest at Virginia ACCDN on YouTube
Sunday, Oct 7 1:00 p.m. Maryland at NC State RSN
Thursday, Oct 11 7:00 p.m. Duke at NC State ESPN3
Thursday, Oct 11 8:00 p.m. Virginia Tech at Florida State RSN
Sunday, Oct 14 1:00 p.m. Virginia at Florida State ESPN3
Sunday, Oct 14 1:00 p.m. Wake Forest at Duke RSN
Thursday, Oct 18 7:00 p.m. North Carolina at Duke ACCDN on YouTube
Thursday, Oct 18 7:00 p.m. Virginia Tech at Clemson ESPN3
Sunday, Oct 21 1:00 p.m. Wake Forest at North Carolina ESPN3
Thursday, Oct 25 7:00 p.m. Florida State at Miami ACCDN on YouTube
Thursday, Oct 25 7:00 p.m. North Carolina at NC State ESPN3
Friday, Nov 2 5:00 p.m. ACC Semifinal #1 ESPN3
Friday, Nov 2 7:30 p.m. ACC Semifinal #2 ESPN3
Sunday, Nov 4 1:00 p.m. ACC Championship ESPNU