ACC Reaches Record High for Spring Olympic Sport Coverage

Jan. 23, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C.(theACC.com) – The Atlantic Coast Conference announced today the Olympic Sport coverage for the upcoming spring season. The league’s schedule includes 82 televised events--the highest ever in the history of ACC Spring Olympic Sports.

“After an unprecedented number of televised games in the fall, we're excited to see a record-setting lineup for the league's spring sports," said ACC Commissioner John Swofford. "In addition to the terrific opportunity for our players, schools and conference, it provides our fans with more access than ever before. We appreciate the ongoing commitment our television partners have shown to the ACC and its fans."

Highlights of the ACC’s upcoming spring broadcast schedule include:

  • Nine consecutive weeks of “ACC Monday” on ESPNU which will feature an ACC Olympic sporting event in prime time each Monday from March 19 thru May 14
  • A record 43 baseball games involving ACC teams including all 13 games of the ACC Baseball Championship in Greensboro, N.C. (May 23-27).
  • A record 19 men’s lacrosse games involving ACC teams including, for the first time, all three games of the ACC Men’s Lacrosse Championship in Charlottesville, Virginia (April 20-22) on ESPNU.
  • A record 14 softball games involving ACC teams including, for the first time, all seven games of the ACC Softball Championship in Chapel Hill, N.C. (May 10-12).
  • For the first time, all five games of the ACC Women’s Lacrosse Championship (April 20-23/Durham, N.C.) will be broadcast, including the championship final as part of ESPNU’s “ACC Monday” package.
  • For the first time, the entire ACC Wrestling Championship (March 3 in Chapel Hill, N.C.) will be broadcast on ESPN3.

A total of 55 ACC spring contests will appear on ESPN Networks including three on ESPN, one on ESPN2, 28 on ESPNU and 23 on ESPN3. An additional 27 games will appear on the league’s regional sports network (known as RSN), which reaches up to 24 million households and includes Fox Sports South, Sun Sports, Comcast SportsNet Mid- Atlantic and NESN. All ACC games produced as part of the RSN package will also be available on ESPN3 in locations beyond the RSN territory.

In addition to the 82 events announced Monday as part of the ACC’s Olympic Sport conference package, other games will be carried by the ACC Digital Network and by the regional cable partners of various ACC institutions. A complete listing of those games will be announced at a later date.

Spring 2012 Olympic Sports Broadcast Coverage (All Times Eastern)
Baseball
Sunday, March 4 2:00 PM South Carolina at Clemson ESPN3
Saturday, March 17 8:00 PM Virginia at Florida State ESPNU
Sunday, March 18 2:00 PM Virginia at Florida State ESPN3
Monday, March 19 7:00 PM Virginia at Florida State ESPNU
Saturday, March 24 1:00 PM NC State at North Carolina RSN
Sunday, March 25 1:00 PM NC State at North Carolina ESPN3
Monday, March 26 7:00 PM NC State at North Carolina ESPNU
Friday, March 30 6:30 PM Miami at Clemson ESPN3
Saturday, March 31 1:00 PM Duke at Georgia Tech RSN
Saturday, March 31 4:00 PM Miami at Clemson ESPNU
Sunday, April 1 12:00 PM Miami at Clemson ESPN3
Saturday, April 7 1:00 PM Boston College at Virginia Tech RSN
Saturday, April 7 6:00 PM Florida State at Georgia Tech ESPN3
Monday, April 9 7:00 PM Wake Forest at Virginia ESPNU
Tuesday, April 10 6:00 PM Florida at Florida State ESPN3
Saturday, April 14 12:00 PM NC State at Clemson RSN
Friday, April 20 6:00 PM Miami at Florida State ESPN3
Friday, April 20 6:00 PM Georgia Tech at North Carolina ESPN3
Saturday, April 21 6:00 PM Miami at Florida State ESPN3
Saturday, April 21 2:00 PM Georgia Tech at North Carolina ESPN3
Sunday, April 22 12:00 PM Georgia Tech at North Carolina ESPNU
Saturday, April 28 1:00 PM Virginia at Miami RSN
Monday, April 30 7:00 PM Virginia at Miami ESPNU
Saturday, May 5 1:00 PM Maryland at Florida State RSN
Monday, May 7 7:00 PM Maryland at Florida State ESPNU
Friday, May 11 8:00 PM Wake Forest at Miami ESPNU
Saturday, May 12 1:00 PM Georgia Tech at Virginia RSN
Saturday, May 12 6:30 PM Florida State at Clemson ESPN3
Sunday, May 13 6:30 PM Florida State at Clemson ESPN3
Monday, May 14 6:00 PM Florida State at Clemson ESPNU
Wednesday, May 23 11:00 AM ACC Game 1 RSN
Wednesday, May 23 3:00 PM ACC Game 2 RSN
Wednesday, May 23 7:00 PM ACC Game 3 RSN
Thursday, May 24 11:00 AM ACC Game 4 RSN
Thursday, May 24 3:00 PM ACC Game 5 RSN
Thursday, May 24 7:00 PM ACC Game 6 RSN
Friday, May 25 11:00 AM ACC Game 7 RSN
Friday, May 25 3:00 PM ACC Game 8 RSN
Friday, May 25 7:00 PM ACC Game 9 RSN
Saturday, May 26 11:00 AM ACC Game 10 RSN
Saturday, May 26 3:00 PM ACC Game 11 RSN
Saturday, May 26 7:00 PM ACC Game 12 RSN
Sunday, May 27 12:00 PM ACC Championship ESPN2
Men's Lacrosse
Saturday, February 25 12:00 PM Stony Brook at Virginia ESPN3
Saturday, March 3 1:00 PM Duke at Maryland ESPN3
Sunday, March 4 4:30 PM Syracuse at Virginia ESPN
Saturday, March 10 11:00 AM North Carolina vs. Princeton ESPNU
Saturday, March 10 1:30 PM Virginia vs. Cornell ESPNU
Friday, March 16 5:00 PM North Carolina at Duke ESPNU
Saturday, March 24 12:00 PM Maryland at North Carolina ESPNU
Saturday, March 24 2:00 PM Johns Hopkins at Virginia ESPNU
Saturday, March 31 12:00 PM Virginia at Maryland ESPNU
Sunday, April 1 4:00 PM Duke vs. Syracuse ESPNU
Sunday, April 1 6:30 PM North Carolina vs. Johns Hopkins ESPNU
Saturday, April 7 12:00 PM Virginia at North Carolina ESPN
Friday, April 13 6:00 PM Duke at Virginia ESPNU
Saturday, April 14 TBD North Carolina vs. Hofstra ESPNU
Friday, April 20 5:00 PM ACC Semifinal #1 ESPNU
Friday, April 20 7:30 PM ACC Semifinal #2 ESPNU
Sunday, April 22 3:00 PM ACC Championship ESPNU
Friday, April 27 7:30 PM Virginia vs. Penn ESPN3
Friday, April 27 10:00 PM Duke at Denver ESPNU
Softball
Sunday, April 1 12:00 PM * North Carolina at Florida State (DH) ESPN3
Monday, April 2 7:00 PM North Carolina at Florida State ESPNU
Sunday, April 8 2:00 PM Maryland at Georgia Tech ESPNU
Sunday, April 15 12:00 PM * Georgia Tech at Florida State (DH) ESPN3
Monday, April 16 7:00 PM Georgia Tech at Florida State ESPNU
Thursday, May 10 12:00 PM ACC Quarterfinal #1 RSN
Thursday, May 10 2:30 PM ACC Quarterfinal #2 RSN
Thursday, May 10 5:00 PM ACC Quarterfinal #3 ESPN3
Thursday, May 10 7:30 PM ACC Quarterfinal #4 ESPN3
Friday, May 11 1:00 PM ACC Semifinal #1 RSN
Friday, May 11 3:30 PM ACC Semifinal #2 RSN
Saturday, May 12 4:00 PM ACC Championship ESPN
Women's Lacrosse
Friday, April 20 12:00 PM ACC Quarterfinal #1 RSN
Friday, April 20 2:00 PM ACC Quarterfinal #2 RSN
Saturday, April 21 1:00 PM ACC Semifinal #1 RSN
Saturday, April 21 3:00 PM ACC Semifinal #2 RSN
Monday, April 23 7:00 PM ACC Championship ESPNU
Wrestling
Saturday, March 3 11:00 AM ACC Championship ESPN3