Four from ACC Lacrosse Teams Named Tewaaraton Award Finalists

Tewaaraton Award winners to be named on June 2

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the men’s and women’s finalists for the 2016 Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour. Five men and five women were selected as finalists and will be invited to Washington, D.C., for the 16th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony on June 2.

Among the 10 men’s and women’ s finalists are four ACC student-athletes: Duke senior midfielder Myles Jones, Notre Dame senior defenseman Matt Landis and senior defender Barbara Sullivan, and Syracuse senior attacker Kayla Treanor. 

The other three men’s finalists are Denver junior attackman Connor Cannizzaro, Brown junior attackman Dylan Molloy and Yale sophomore attackman Ben Reeves, while the other three women’s finalists include Maryland senior midfielder Taylor Cummings, Florida senior midfielder Nicole Graziano and Maryland senior defender Alice Mercer. 

Two-time reigning Tewaaraton winner Taylor Cummings seeks to become the first three-time award winner – man or woman – and is joined by returning finalists Notre Dame's Sullivan (2015) and Syracuse's Treanor (2014, 2015). Duke’s Jones is the lone returning 2015 men’s finalist. All 10 finalists have or are still competing in this month’s NCAA Tournament, at the conclusion of which the selection committees will vote on and select this year’s winners.

“The Tewaaraton Foundation congratulates these 10 finalists that have been chosen among many worthy candidates by the game’s top coaches on the selection committees,” said Jeffrey Harvey, chairman of The Tewaaraton Foundation. “We look forward to welcoming each of them and their families to Washington, D.C., on June 2.”

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. Finalists come from a pool of 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees. The selection committees are comprised of 15 men’s and 14 women’s current and former college coaches.
The guidelines for finalists and recipient selections are as follows:

- Finalists will be the best five players chosen without regard to institution.
- Finalists will be selected based on individual performance and a player’s contribution to the success of their team.
- Finalists are chosen based on the current year’s regular season performance (date of selection is at the conclusion of the regular season, before playoffs).
- Recipients are chosen based on the current year’s regular season and playoff performance.
- Sportsmanship can play a role in the selection process and it is important that the recipient upholds the mission and values of the Tewaaraton Award.

Brief bios of the ACC's men’s and women’s finalists:

ACC Offensive Player of the Year Myles Jones is a Tewaaraton finalist for the second consecutive year. A senior midfielder from Huntington, N.Y., Jones paces Duke with 34 assists and ranks second on the squad with 33 goals and 67 points. The No. 1 pick in 2016 Major League Lacrosse Draft and a two-time USILA All-American, Jones is second among all midfielders nationally in points and points per game (3.72). This season, Jones became the first midfielder in Division I lacrosse history to score 100 goals and 100 assists in his career, and his 228 points are second-most all-time by a midfielder, trailing only Syracuse great Gary Gait’s 253. He would be the Blue Devils’ third Tewaaraton winner, joining Matt Danowski (2007) and Ned Crotty (2010).

Notre Dame defenseman Matt Landis leads the nation’s fifth-ranked scoring defense (7.69 goals per game) and earned his second consecutive ACC Defensive Player of the Year award to go with All-ACC honors. The senior captain and reigning USILA Defenseman of the Year from Pelham, N.Y., has registered 28 ground balls and 17 caused turnovers in helping the Irish to a share of the ACC regular-season crown and the No. 3 seed in the NCAA Tournament. He is Notre Dame’s third Tewaaraton finalist, and would be the team’s first award winner.

Returning Tewaaraton finalist Barbara Sullivan is the leader of a Notre Dame defense that leads the nation in caused turnovers (14.05 per game) and ranks second in the ACC at 8.16 goals allowed per game. The graduate senior defender and three-year captain from Garden City, N.Y., set a school single-season record with 51 caused turnovers, good for tops in the ACC and fourth nationally. In addition, her team-leading 44 ground balls and 59 draw controls earned Sullivan ACC Defensive Player of the Year honors for a second consecutive season. She owns Fighting Irish career marks in caused turnovers and draw controls, and would be the program’s first Tewaaraton winner.

Syracuse senior attacker Kayla Treanor is a Tewaaraton finalist for a third consecutive season. The Niskayuna, N.Y., native topped the Orange with 46 goals, 38 assists and 84 points (tied for 10th in the nation and tops in the ACC), earning her record third consecutive ACC Offensive Player of the Year award. She led the nation with 189 draw controls—averaging more than nine per game—became the program’s all-time leading goal scorer with 256 and earned first-team All-ACC honors for a fourth straight year. Treanor is the NCAA Division I active leader in points (387, fourth all-time) and goals (tied for eighth all-time). She would be Syracuse’s first Tewaaraton winner.