Four ACC Volleyball Teams Earn NCAA Bids


Duke, Florida State, Miami and North Carolina to compete on national stage

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Four Atlantic Coast Conference teams were selected to the 64-team field of the 2014 NCAA Division I Volleyball Championship, which gets underway on December 4 and runs through December 20. Duke, Florida State and Miami will join North Carolina, which earned the league’s automatic bid.

Seventh-seeded North Carolina (26-2) will be in the Minneapolis Regional and will host Hampton (21-10) on Dec. 5 at 6:30pm. The winner will then advance to take on either Coastal Carolina (25-6) or Southern California (15-15). The Tar Heels claimed their 12th overall league title Saturday afternoon, finishing with a 17-1 conference record.

Florida State (28-2) drew the sixth overall seed and will play its first match in the Seattle Regional against Jacksonville on Dec. 4 at 7:00pm. The winner will face off against either Alabama (25-7) or Samford (20-12) in the second round. The Seminoles are making their 17th appearance in the tournament and look to improve on a regional semifinal run last season.

Duke (22-7) is making its ACC-leading 19th appearance in the tournament and eighth in the past nine years. The Blue Devils will face Hawaii in the first round of the Seattle Regional on Dec. 5 at 8:00pm. The winner awaits either third-seeded Washington (29-2) or New Hampshire (20-11).

Miami (21-8) will be in the Ames Regional and will face off against in-state UCF (25-7) on Dec. 5 at 4:30pm. The winner advances to take on either Alabama State (20-18) or Florida (25-3) in the second round. The Hurricanes are making their seventh appearance in the tournament.

First-and second-round matches will be played at 16 campus sites.  Teams winning both matches will move on to regional play December 12 and 13. All regional semifinal games will be shown on ESPN3. Regional final games will air on ESPNU.

The regional winners will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by the Big 12 Conference and the Oklahoma City All Sports Association at Chesapeake Energy Arena in Oklahoma City on December 18 and 20. Both national semifinal games as well as the championship game will be broadcast by ESPN2. All regional and championship site game times can be found on the attached championship bracket or online at