Four ACC Volleyball Teams Earn Bids to NCAA Tournament

Florida State, Louisville, Miami and North Carolina to compete on national stage

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Four Atlantic Coast Conference teams were selected to the 64-team field of the 2015 NCAA Division I Volleyball Championship, which gets underway on December 3. Florida State, Miami and North Carolina will join Louisville, the recipient of the league’s automatic bid.

Fifteenth-seeded Louisville (24-6) will play in the Des Moines Regional and host Belmont (17-14) on December 4 at 7 p.m. The winner will face either Southern Illinois (23-9) or Illinois (19-12). The Cardinals claimed their first ACC Volleyball title Saturday afternoon, finishing with an 18-2 conference record, and will make their 25th NCAA tournament appearance.

North Carolina (20-9) will play in the San Diego Regional and host UNC Wilmington (24-7) on December 4 at 6:30 p.m. The winner of that match will play either Coastal Carolina (25-4) or Creighton (25-8) in the second round. The Tar Heels are making their 17th appearance in the tournament.

Florida State (24-7) will travel to Gainesville, Florida in the Austin Regional to take on Arizona State (19-12) in the first round on December 3 at 4:30 p.m. The winner will face either 11th-seeded Florida (22-6) or New Hampshire (21-8) in the second round. The Seminoles are making their 18th appearance in the NCAA tournament

Miami (21-9) will also play in the Austin Regional, facing Iowa State (18-10) in the first round in Madison, Wisconsin on December 3 at 6 p.m. The winner of that match will play either 6th-seeded Wisconsin (24-6) or Oregon (16-13). The Hurricanes are making their eighth NCAA tournament appearance.

First- and second-round matches will be played at 16 campus sites beginning Thursday, December 3. Teams winning both matches will move on to regional play December 11 and 12. All regional semifinal games will be shown on ESPN3, while regional final games will air on ESPNU.

The regional winners will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by the University of Nebraska at the Century Link Center in Omaha, Nebraska on December 17 and 19. Both national semifinal games as well as the championship game will be broadcast by ESPN2. All regional and championship site game times can be found at, along with an interactive bracket.