Four ACC Players Set For Home Run Derby

Half the 2015 field comes from the ACC

OMAHA, Neb. – Four of the eight players selected to compete in the sixth annual TD Ameritrade College Home Run Derby, set for Thursday night, hail from the ACC. 

Coming from the league are Georgia Tech’s Kel Johnson, Miami’s Zack Collins, NC State’s Joe Dunand, and Wake Forest’s Will Craig. They will join BYU’s Colton Shaver, Mercer’s Kyle Lewis, North Dakota’s Jeff Campbell, and Texas Tech’s Eric Gutierrez.

The event will be held at 8:30 p.m. EDT at TD Ameritrade Park and will air live on ESPN. For more information, follow @CollegeHRDerby and @ACCBaseball on Twitter or visit

  • Kel Johnson, Georgia Tech: Even with an ankle injury that hampered him the remainder of the season, OF Johnson had an outstanding season. A Louisville Slugger Freshman All-American and a Freshman All-ACC pick, he capped an impressive rookie season by hitting .298 and leading all ACC freshmen with 10 home runs.
  • Zack Collins, Miami: Collins earned the first Rawlings All-America honors of his career this past spring and was named a first-team All-ACC selection after hitting .302 with 15 home runs and 70 RBI as one of the nation’s top power hitters.
  • Joe Dunand, NC State: The freshman third baseman made his mark supplying power for the back half of State's deep order. Dunand provided seven homers, tied with sophomore Preston Palmeiro for second on the team. His most important HR represented the series-clincher against Virginia – a walk-off, two-run shot in the bottom of the 10th.
  • Will Craig, Wake Forest: A consensus All-American, Craig put together one of the best offensive seasons in program history. The sophomore hit .382 with 13 homers and 58 RBIs, starting all 53 games for the Demon Deacons. The ACC Player of the Year led the nation in RBIs, home runs, slugging percentage and total bases at different parts of the season. A first baseman, DH and pitcher, Craig was on the Golden Spikes Award watch list, John Olerud Award watch list, and was a semifinalist for the Dick Howser Trophy.