Four ACC Men’s Lacrosse Teams Earn NCAA Berths

Duke, North Carolina, Notre Dame and Syracuse begin NCAA play this weekend

GREENSBORO, N.C.  – Four Atlantic Coast Conference men’s lacrosse programs were among the 18 selected to compete in the 2016 NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse Championship, as announced Sunday evening. 

The tournament gets underway May 14-15 at campus sites. The quarterfinals, played a week later on May 21-22, will be held in Columbus, Ohio, and Providence, Rhode Island. Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania will host the semifinals on May 28 and the championship on May 30.

Notre Dame (10-3) is the No. 3 seed and will host Air Force in the first round on Saturday, May 14 at Arlotta Stadium at 7:30 p.m. on ESPNU. The Fighting Irish, who have made back-to-back trips Championship Weekend (2014 and 2015) will be making their 11th straight appearance in the tournament and 21st overall in program history. 

Syracuse (11-4), the 2016 ACC Champion, is the No. 8 seed and will make it 36th overall appearance in the NCAA Championship in program history. The Orange will host Albany on Sunday, May 15 in the Carrier Dome. The game will be televised on ESPNU at 7:30 p.m. Syracuse has won 11 NCAA titles and holds a 66-24 record in NCAA Tournament play.

North Carolina (8-6) travels to Milwaukee, Wisconsin, to face No. 6 seed Marquette on Saturday at 2:30 p.m. on ESPNU.  North Carolina will be making its 10th consecutive appearance in the tournament and 31st in program history. The Tar Heels are 29-26 in tournament play and own four national titles.

Winners of  two of the last three NCAA Championships, Duke (11-7) travels to No. 7 seed Loyola on Saturday. ESPNU will carry the Noon faceoff. The Blue Devils will be making their 20th appearance in the tournament, where they are 32-16 all-time and have three national titles.

The ACC five teams combine for 23 national championships. At least one current ACC member team has advanced to the national semifinals each of the last 37 years.