ACC Sends 38 Wrestlers to the 2016 NCAA Championship

@ACCWrestling Championship Recap

League Receives Four At-Large Berths To Go With 34 Automatic Qualifiers

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( — Four Atlantic Coast Conference wrestlers were selected for at-large individual bids to the 2016 NCAA Wrestling Championship, which will be held March 17-19 at Madison Square Garden in New York City.

The four at-large invitations brings the total number of ACC wrestlers who will be participating in the Championship to 38 which is two more than in 2015.

Named as at-large qualifiers were Andrew Atkinson of Virginia at 157 pounds; Te'Shan Campbell of Pitt at 165; Chip Ness of North Carolina at 197, and Patrick Gillen of Virginia at heavyweight (285).

ACC Champion NC State and Virginia Tech leads the way with eight wrestlers in the tournament, followed by North Carolina (7), Pitt (6), Virginia (5) and Duke (4).

State, which captured the 2016 ACC Wrestling title Sunday, is ranked second nationally, while Virginia Tech is right behind, ranked third. North Carolina is ranked 14th, with both Virginia and Pitt just out of the Top 25, ranked 26th and 27th, respectively. Duke also received votes in the last NWCA poll of February 23.

ACC Wrestlers in the NCAA Championship

Duke (4)
141—Zack Finesilver
149—Mitch Finesilver
165—Jake Faust
197—Conner Hartmann

North Carolina (7)
141—Joey Ward
149--Evan Henderson
157—Robert Henderson
165—John Michael Staudenmeyer
174—Ethan Ramos
184—Alex Utley
197—Chip Ness

NC State (8)
125-- Sean Fausz
133—Jamal Morris
141—Kevin Jack,
157—Thomas Gantt
165—Max Rohskopf
184—Pete Renda
197—Michael Boykin
285—Nick Gwiazdowski

Pitt (6)
125--LJ Bentley
133--Dom Forys
165—Cody Wiercioch
174—TeShan Campbell
197—Nick Bonaccorsi
285—Ryan Solomon

Virginia (5)
125--Nick Herrmann
133—George DiCamillo
157—Andrew Atkinson
197—Zach Nye
285—Patrick Gillen

Virginia Tech (8)
125—Joey Dance
141—Solomon Chishko
149—Nick Brascetta
165—David McFadden
174—Zach Epperly
184—Zack Zavatsky
197—Jared Haught
285—Ty Walz