Florida State's Sue Semrau Named AP and United States Marine Corps/WBCA Coach of the Year

Florida State’s Sue Semrau Named Associated Press Coach of the Year

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (Seminoles.com) – Florida State Women’s Basketball head coach Sue Semrau’s memorable 2014-15 season continues to capture the attention of many, as she was named the 2015 Associated Press Women’s Basketball College Coach of the Year on Saturday evening at Amalie Arena in Tampa, Fla.

Semrau’s AP award is her second national coach of the year award so far this season. On March 13 she was chosen as the ESPNW Coach of the Year. The 18th-year head coach at FSU is also a WBCA Coach of the Year finalist (announced Monday) and a Naismith Trophy Coach of the Year finalist (announced Tuesday).

Her latest award is the fourth coaching honor she has received this season, also winning ACC Coach of the Year by the Blue Ribbon Panel as well as the conference coaches.

“I am humbled by this honor that extends to the coaches and student-athletes who worked so hard this season,” Semrau said. “The numerous records that were broken this year are a direct result of the incredible effort put in by our players and staff."

Semrau guided the Seminoles to their best season in school history despite being predicted to finish fifth in the ACC preseason poll. Florida State reached the NCAA Elite Eight for the second time and came within minutes of making its first NCAA Final Four, all while totaling a program-record 32 wins (32-5).

Semrau and the Seminoles also established program records for ACC victories (14), regular-season wins (27), the highest seed in NCAA Tournament history (No. 2), AP Top 25 wins (6) and the first undefeated home season at the Donald L. Tucker Center (16-0 including the NCAA Tournament).

Florida State reached new program heights in other ways as well. Although the final AP and USA Today Polls won’t be announced until next week, FSU is currently seventh in the AP to mark a program best and reached sixth in the USA Today Poll, also a program best.

Despite the presence of six new key players, Semrau was able to blend their talents together and create a group that played the game seamlessly. The 2014-15 Noles became the first team in program history to end the year with five double-figure scorers. FSU also out-rebounded 36 of its 37 opponents, and was the only Men’s or Women’s Division I team to out-rebound every opponent during the regular season.

Semrau is the eighth ACC coach to earn a national coach of the year honor and just the third to be selected as the AP Coach of the Year. Since the award’s inception in 1995, Semrau is the 15th head coach to win the national honor.


Sue Semrau named 2015 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division I National Coach of the Year

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (Seminoles.com) – For the third time this year, Florida State Women’s Basketball Head Coach Sue Semrau has picked up a national coach of the year honor as she was named the United States Marine Corps/WBCA Division I Coach of the Year.

Semrau was presented the prestigious Pat Summitt Trophy late Monday night during the fifth annual WBCA Awards Show.

"The WBCA is proud to name Sue Semrau as the 2015 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division I National Coach of the Year," said WBCA Executive Director Danielle Donehew. "Sue had a tremendous season teaching, mentoring, and inspiring her student-athletes on and off the court, as evidenced by the vote from her respective peers and is very deserving of the WBCA’s highest honor for the coaching profession."

Semrau is just the third ACC coach ever to win national coach of the year honors from both the Associated Press and the WBCA (Women’s Basketball Coaches Association). She joins Notre Dame head coach Muffet McGraw (2001, 2013, 2014) and North Carolina’s Sylvia Hatchell (2006) on the esteemed list.

Semrau is also only the fourth ACC coach ever to win at least three national coach of the year awards in one season, also joining McGraw, Hatchell and former Duke coach Gail Goestenkors.

"Sue has not only had a fantastic year at FSU leading her team, she has also served the family of women’s basketball coaches as President of the WBCA,” added Donehew. “I can attest to Sue’s countless hours, leadership, commitment, and vision to lift the organization,” said Donehew. “We are extremely grateful to have such a passionate and talented individual as Sue serving the game in all facets.

“Our women’s basketball family applauds Sue on a remarkable year and shares our profound thanks for her investment into our game, for the betterment of the coaching profession and her impact on the Florida State campus through her service to her student-athletes.”

This is the second year the physical award presented to the six United States Marine Corps/WBCA National Coaches of the Year has borne Summitt's name. It is the only national coach of the year award to do so. The legendary University of Tennessee head coach, who stepped down in April 2012, is the winningest basketball coach (men's or women's) in NCAA Division I history with 1,098 career victories. Summitt led the Lady Vols to eight NCAA Division I national championships and was named the United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division I National Coach of the Year three times in her career.

Semrau and the Seminoles’ achievements from their NCAA Elite Eight season have been well documented. The 2014-15 Seminoles broke the school record for 3-point field goals made (216), offensive rebounds (625), defensive rebounds (986) and total rebounds (1,611). FSU’s 1,053 made field goals this past season ranks second in school history and was the first time it passed the 1,000 mark in 20 years.

In addition to WBCA and AP Coach of the Year honors, Semrau was also chosen as the ESPNW Coach of the Year. She was selected as ACC Coach of the Year for the fourth time following the end of the regular season.

The WBCA presents the national coach of the year award annually in each of the six WBCA membership divisions (NCAA Divisions I, II and III; NAIA; junior/community college and high school). This marks the 33rd year the awards have been given in the junior/community college and NCAA divisions, while the WBCA has honored an NAIA coach of the year for 31 years.