Florida State’s Dagny Brynjarsdottir Named Women’s Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year

40 student-athletes named to the All-Academic Team

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Florida State senior midfielder Dagny Brynjarsdottir has been named the 2014 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year and heads up the sport’s All-ACC Academic Team, as announced Tuesday by Commissioner John Swofford.

Brynjarsdottir, a sport management major, was the 2014 NSCAA Scholar Player of the Year and a three-time All-ACC selection. She earned ACC Offensive Player of the Year honors and was named the ACC Women’s Soccer Championship’s Most Valuable Player in 2014. Brynjarsdottir earned NSCAA First Team All-America honors, was a finalist for the Honda Award and runner-up for the MAC Hermann Trophy following the 2014 season in which she led the Seminoles to their first NCAA title and second straight ACC Championship. Brynjarsdottir is a two-time ACC All-Academic Team selection.

Ten schools are represented on this year’s All-Academic Team, which includes five student-athletes that earned NSCAA All-America honors in 2014. Seven members of the ACC All-Academic Team were named to either 2014 Capital One Academic All-America Team or the NSCAA Scholar All-America Team.

Boston College’s Stephanie McCaffrey claimed her fourth ACC All-Academic Team honor, while Virginia’s Morgan Brian, Danielle Colaprico and Makenzy Doniak, and Virginia Tech’s Shannon Mayrose and Ashley Meier collected their third of their careers.The ACC All-Academic Team also includes 21 players that were named to the first, second or third All-ACC team and seven members of the ACC All-Freshman team.

2014 All-ACC Academic Women’s Soccer Team

**Hayley Dowd, So., F, Boston College

****Stephanie McCaffrey, Sr., F, Boston College

Tori Andreski, Jr., F, Clemson

Emily Byorth, So., D, Clemson

Gabby Byorth, So., D, Clemson

Shannon Horgan, Fr., F, Clemson

**Katelyn Reeve, Sr., M, Clemson

Kailen Sheridan, So., GK, Clemson

**Kelly Cobb, Sr., F, Duke

Imani Dorsey, Fr., F, Duke

**Christina Gibbons, So., M, Duke

Ali Kershner, Sr., GK, Duke

Ashton Miller, Fr., M, Duke

**Dagny Brynjarsdottir, Sr., M, Florida State

**Megan Campbell, Sr., D, Florida State

**Kristin Grubka, Sr., D, Florida State

Emma Koivisto, Fr., D, Florida State

Carson Pickett, Jr., D/M, Florida State

Isabella Schmid, Jr., M, Florida State

Cheyna Williams, Jr., M, Florida State

Jessie Scarpa, Fr., D, North Carolina

Joanna Boyles, So., M, North Carolina

Sabrina Flores, Fr., D, Notre Dame

Kaela Little, So., GK, Notre Dame

Katie Naughton, Jr., D, Notre Dame

**Cari Roccaro, Jr., M, Notre Dame

Brittany Von Rueden, Jr., D, Notre Dame

Courtney Brosnan, Fr., GK, Syracuse

**Taylor Haenlin, Sr., D, Syracuse

***Morgan Brian, Sr., M, Virginia

***Danielle Colaprico, Sr., M, Virginia

***Makenzy Doniak, Jr., F, Virginia

Brittany Ratcliffe, Jr., F, Virginia

Candace Cephers, So., M, Virginia Tech

**Jordan Coburn, Jr., D, Virginia Tech

***Shannon Mayrose, GS, F, Virginia Tech 

***Ashley Meier, Jr., M, Virginia Tech

**Murielle Tiernan, So., F, Virginia Tech

**Katie Yenson, Sr., M, Virginia Tech

**Riley Ridgik, Sr., M, Wake Forest