Florida State Wins 2016 ACC Softball Championship

Seminoles collect third straight title, 13th overall

RALEIGH, N.C.  – Top-seeded Florida State scored four runs in the third inning and scattered seven hits over seven innings to defeat No. 3 seed Notre Dame to win the 2016 ACC Softball Championship before a sellout crowd at Dail Stadium on Saturday afternoon. 

The title is Florida State’s (48-8) third straight and 13th overall. 

Meghan King pitched a complete game to earn the win, while three Seminoles hit home runs to account for four of the team’s seven runs. 

Florida State got on the board first in the first inning. Morgan Klaevemann walked and stole second before she advanced to third on a sacrifice bunt.  Tournament MVP Jessica Warren then singled to left field driving Klaevemann home. 

Notre Dame tied the game in the top of the second when, Bailey Bigler fired a two-out single to center field that brought Kimmy Sullivan all the way home from second base. The Irish went ahead 2-1 following a Micaela Arizmendi home run to left center.

The Seminoles enjoyed a four-run third inning that Ellie Cooper got started with a solo shot to right field. 
Warren was hit by a pitch and then scored when Alex Powers hit a two-run bomb. 

After walking the next batter Sydney Broderick, Notre Dame turned to the bullpen and reliever Katie Beriont. She caught Broderick stealing, but then gave up a solo shot by Zoe Casas to right center that capped Florida State’s third inning scoring outburst.

The balls continued to sail out of Dail Stadium as Casey Africano’s shot to left field gave Notre Dame its third run of the game (5-3), but Florida State used two hits and three walks to plate two more runs in the bottom of the fourth. 

Allie Rhodes went 2.1 innings with four earned runs and suffered the loss, while Beriont and Rachel Nasland tossed the final 3.2 innings for Notre Dame (41-11).  

For additional information on the 2016 ACC Softball Championship, visit http://theacc.co/sb16champ.

2016 ACC Softball Championship All-Tournament Team 
Jessica Warren, Florida State – MVP 
Meghan King, Florida State
Cali Harrod, Florida State            
Sydney Broderick, Florida State
Rachel Nasland, Notre Dame     
Karley Wester, Notre Dame
Ali Wester, Notre Dame               
Aquilla Mateen, North Carolina
Taylor Wike, North Carolina
Sidney Melton, Louisville            
Maryssa Becker, Louisville