Florida State’s Johnson Named ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy Recipient

Junior tackle repeats as winner, marking 12th time a Seminole has claimed the award

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Florida State junior offensive tackle Roderick Johnson has been voted the winner of the Jacobs Blocking Trophy for the second consecutive season, as announced by the Atlantic Coast Conference on Sunday. 

The Jacobs Blocking Trophy has been awarded annually since 1953 to the player selected the most outstanding blocker in the ACC by a poll of the league’s head coaches and defensive coordinators. With Johnson’s repeat selection, seven Seminole offensive linemen have now claimed the honor a combined 12 times. This marks the fourth-straight year that a Florida State student-athlete will receive the award.

“Rod has had a tremendous year,” said Florida State head coach Jimbo Fisher. “He has been a leader for our offensive line and our offense as a whole. To win the Jacobs Blocking Trophy two years in a row is an incredible honor and puts a player in some rare company. Rod improved throughout the season, started every game for us, and was a key part of our team finishing (the regular season) on a high note. I’m very proud of him.” 

The trophy is given in memory of William P. Jacobs, who served as president of Presbyterian College from 1935 to 1945. Johnson will be recognized during the 2016 Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game next Saturday at Orlando’s Camping World Stadium.

Johnson, a 6-foot-7, 307-pound junior from Florissant, Missouri, earned the Jacobs Blocking Trophy after playing a vital role in a Seminole offense that ranks third in the ACC in total yards with 474.3 per game and has scored 35.3 points per contest.

The standout left tackle earned ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week honors on September 26 for his play in the Seminoles’ win over South Florida, and again on November 19 following Florida State’s road victory at Syracuse. He has played a prominent role throughout the season, paving the way for ACC rushing leader Dalvin Cook – who has run for 1,620 yards and 18 touchdowns – and in protecting quarterback Deondre Francois, who has accounted for 3,317 yards total offense.

Johnson amassed 16 total points in the coaches’ voting to capture the 63rd ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy (no award was given in 1996). He edged out the Pitt duo of tackle Adam Bisnowaty, who placed second with 15 points, and guard Dorian Johnson, who had 13. In all, 19 ACC offensive linemen received votes in the balloting. 

Johnson is the 12th ACC player to win the Jacobs Blocking Trophy multiple times. Past Florida State winners of the Jacobs Blocking Trophy included four two-time recipients in guard Rodney Hudson (2009 and 2010), tackle Brett Williams (2001 and 2002), center Clay Shiver (1994 and 1995) and tackle/center Cameron Erving (2013 and 2014). Tackles Tra Thomas (1997) and Tarlos Thomas (2000) were each honored once.

Winners of the ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy

1953     Bill Wohrman, FB, South Carolina
1954     Bill Wohrman, FB, South Carolina
1955     Bob Pellegrini, C, Maryland
1956     Hal McElhaney, FB, Duke
1957     Hal McElhaney, FB, Duke
1958     John Saunders, FB, South Carolina
1959     Doug Cline, FB, Clemson
1960     Dwight Bumgarner, T, Duke
1961     Art Gregory, T, Duke
                Jim LeCompte, G, North Carolina
1962     Art Gregory, T, Duke
1963     Chuck Walker,T, Duke
1964     Eddie Kesler, FB, North Carolina
1965     John McNabb, G, Duke
1966     Wayne Mass, T, Clemson
1967     Harry Olszewski, G, Clemson
1968     Greg Shelly, T, Virginia
1969     Ralph Sonntag, T, Maryland
1970     Dan Ryczek, C, Virginia
1971     Geoff Hamlin, FB, North Carolina
1972     Ron Rusnak, G, North Carolina
1973     Bill Yoest, G, NC State
1974     Ken Huff, G, North Carolina
1975     Billy Bryan, C, Duke
1976     Billy Bryan, C, Duke
1977     Joe Bostic, G, Clemson
1978     Jim Ritcher, C, NC State
1979     Jim Ritcher, C, NC State
1980     Ron Wooten, G, North Carolina
1981     Lee Nanney, T, Clemson
1982     Dave Pacella, T, Maryland
1983     James Farr, G, Clemson
1984     Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia
1985     Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia
1986     Paul Kiser, G, Wake Forest
1987     John Phillips, G, Clemson
1988     Jeff Garnica, C, North Carolina
1989     Chris Port, T, Duke
1990     Ray Roberts, T, Virginia
1991     Ray Roberts, T, Virginia
1992     Ben Coleman, T, Wake Forest
1993     Mark Dixon, G,  Virginia
1994     Clay Shiver, C, Florida State
1995     Clay Shiver, C, Florida State
1996     no recipient
1997     Tra Thomas, T, Florida State
1998     Craig Page, C, Georgia Tech
1999     John St. Clair, C, Virginia
2000     Tarlos Thomas, T,  Florida State
2001     Brett Williams, T, Florida State
2002     Brett Williams, T, Florida State
2003     Elton Brown, G, Virginia
2004     Elton Brown, G, Virginia
2005     Eric Winston, T, Miami
2006     Josh Beekman, G-C, Boston College
2007     Steve Justice, C, Wake Forest
2008     Eugene Monroe, T, Virginia
2009     Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State
2010     Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State
2011     Blake DeChristopher, T, Virginia Tech
2012     Jonathan Cooper, G, North Carolina
2013     Cameron Erving, T, Florida State
2014     Cameron Erving, T-C, Florida State
2015     Roderick Johnson, T, Florida State
2016     Roderick Johnson, T, Florida State