Five Named to Ben Hogan Award Watch List

FORT WORTH, Texas – Five Atlantic Coast Conference golfers have been named to the 2015 Ben Hogan Award Watch List. Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America announced the list of 24 collegiate golfers named to the 2015 Ben Hogan Award Watch List on Friday.

The ACC is represented on the watch list by Florida State’s Jack Maguire, Georgia Tech’s Ollie Schniederjans, Virginia’s Denny McCarthy, Virginia Tech’s Scott Vincent, and Wake Forest’s Will Zalatoris.

The most prestigious award in men’s college golf, The Ben Hogan Award is presented annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the past 12-month period. The Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee, which votes during each stage of the process, is comprised of leaders in professional, amateur and collegiate golf.

ACC student-athletes have won the award four times: Clemson’s Kyle Stanley in 2009, Wake Forest’s Bill Haas in 2004, Clemson’s D.J. Trahan in 2002, and North Carolina’s Mark Wilson in 1996.

The list of 10 semifinalists, which could include individuals not on the current list, will be unveiled on Wednesday, April 15. On Wednesday, May 6, that group will be pared down to three finalists. The winner will be crowned at a black-tie banquet at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, on Monday, May 18, prior to the start of the PGA TOUR’s Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial.

For the full Ben Hogan Award Watch List, visit