Five ACC Teams Advance to NCAA Men’s Golf Championship

GREENSBORO, N.C. -- Five ACC teams and one individual advanced to the NCAA Men’s Golf Championship following the final round of regional play on Wednesday. It marks the third straight year that five league teams reached the championship.

Clemson, Duke, Florida State, North Carolina, and Virginia, along with Wake Forest’s Will Zalatoris, will represent the ACC at the NCAA Championship, which will be held  May 26-31 at Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Illinois.

Both Duke and Virginia advanced out of the Baton Rouge Regional. The ACC Champion Blue Devils shot 10-over 874 to place second and were led by Alex Smalley and Chandler Eaton, who tied for third place. The Cavaliers finished fourth with a 17-over 881 to qualify for the NCAA Championship for the 17th time in program history.

Playing at the Grove Club, Clemson tied for second with Vanderbilt and Kennesaw State at 1-over 865. Bryson Nimmer led the way for the Tigers at 3-under 213. 

Entering the final round in eighth place and six shots out of the top five, North Carolina rallied to finish fifth at the Stanford Golf Course, one shot ahead of sixth-place Georgia Tech. Freshman Austin Hitt shot a 3-under 67 to lead the rally as the Tar Heels advanced to the NCAA Championship for the first time under head coach Andrew Sapp and the first time as a program since 2007. 

Florida State advanced to the NCAA Championship for the sixth straight year after tying for third with a 10-over 862. Harry Ellis posted the low score on the team with a 3-under 210 to tie for fifth. 

Will Zalatoris, the ACC Player of the Year, advanced to the NCAA Championships as an individual, posting a 3-under par total of 210, which was the lowest among players on non-qualifying teams.

Team and individual medalist titles will be decided May 26-31 at Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Illinois. Northern Illinois University is the host institution for the 2017 championships.

ACC Men’s Golf in the 2017 NCAA Regionals
University Club – Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Hosted by Louisiana State University        
2. Duke (874, +10)
4. Virginia (881, +17)

The Grove – College Grove, Tennessee
Hosted by Middle Tennessee State University
T2. Clemson (865, +1)

Stanford Golf Course – Stanford, California
Hosted by Stanford University
5. North Carolina (843, +3)
6. Georgia Tech (844, +4)

University of Texas Golf Club – Austin, Texas
Hosted by University of Texas at Austin
6. Wake Forest (863, +11)
7. NC State (864, +12)

Aldarra Golf Club – Sammamish, Washington
Hosted by University of Washington
T3. Florida State (862, +10)

Birck Boilermaker Golf Complex, Kampen Course – West Lafayette, Indiana
Hosted by Purdue University
T12. Mark Lawrence Jr., Virginia Tech (220, +4)
T31. Sarit Suwannarut, Virginia Tech (225, +9)
T63. Keegan de Lange, Louisville (233, +17)