Five ACC Football Players Named Semifinalists for the 2015 Campbell Trophy

National Football Foundation Award is Regarded as the Academic Heisman;
Duke’s David Helton Captured the 2014 Campbell Trophy as the Nation’s Top Football Scholar-Athlete

GREENSBORO, NC – Five scholar-athletes from the Atlantic Coast Conference have been named semifinalists for the 2015 William V. Campbell Trophy, given to the nation’s top football scholar-athlete, the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame announced Thursday.

The 2014 Campbell Trophy, which is regarded as the nation’s academic Heisman, was awarded to former Duke linebacker David Helton.

The five ACC football players honored Thursday by the National Football Foundation are Duke senior placekicker Ross Martin (Solon, Ohio), NC State senior offensive tackle Joe Thuney (Centerville, Ohio), Syracuse senior punter Riley Dixon (Blossvale, N.Y.), Virginia senior placekicker Ian Frye (Bristol, Va.) and Wake Forest senior linebacker Hunter Williams (Wake Forest, N.C.).

A total of 56 student-athletes were chosen as semifinalists from the NCAA’s FBS.

The NFF will announce 15 finalists on Oct. 29, and each of them will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, presented by Fidelity Investments. The finalists will travel to New York City for the 58th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 8, where their accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports. At the event, one member of the class will be declared the winner of the 26th William V. Campbell Trophy and have his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000.

“These 135 impressive candidates truly represent the scholar-athlete ideal,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, whose sons Peyton (Campbell Trophy winner) and Eli were named NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively. “It is important for us to showcase their success on the football field, in the classroom and in the community. This year’s semifinalists further illustrate the power of our great sport in developing the next generation of influential leaders.”

Named in honor of Bill Campbell, the chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF’s Gold Medal, the Campbell Trophy is a 25-pound bronze trophy and increases the amount of the recipient’s grant by $7,000 for a total postgraduate scholarship of $25,000. A total distribution of more than $300,000 in scholarships will be awarded at the NFF Annual Awards Dinner, pushing the program’s all-time distribution to more than $11 million.

“The NFF would like to personally congratulate each of the nominees as well as their schools and coaches on their tremendous accomplishments,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “We are extremely proud to highlight each semifinalist’s achievements, showcasing their ability to balance academics and athletics at the highest level. The NFF Awards Committee will have an incredibly difficult task in selecting the finalists from this outstanding group of candidates.”

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.