Fifteen ACC Women Selected to Tewaaraton Watch List

Lacrosse’s top honor to be announced on May 28

NEW YORK – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2015 Tewaaraton Award women’s watch list, with 15 ACC student-athletes recognized. The list includes the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlights the early contenders for the 2015 Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour.

The 15 league representatives are the most from any other conference. ACC student-athletes have won seven times in the 14-year history of the award: Maryland’s Jen Adams in 2001, Virginia’s Amy Appelt in 2004, Duke’s Katie Chrest in 2005, Maryland’s Caitlyn McFadden in 2010, Katie Schwarzmann in 2012 and 2013, and Maryland’s Taylor Cummings in 2014.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation.

Players not named to the initial list have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Watch lists additions, if applicable, will be announced on March 19 and April 9. On April 23, the field will be narrowed to 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees. Nominees can be players on the watch lists or players not on the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions. Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced on May 7 and invited to the ceremony. The Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will be held in Washington, D.C., on May 28, 2015, at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian.

ACC Student-Athletes on the Tewaaraton Women’s Watch List
Mikaela Rix, Boston College - Sr., M
Covie Stanwick, Boston College - Sr., A
Kerrin Maurer, Duke - Sr., A
Taylor Trimble, Duke - Sr., M
Kaylin Morissette, Louisville - Jr., M
Brittney Coppa, North Carolina - Sr., M
Aly Messinger, North Carolina - Jr., A
Courtney Waite, North Carolina - Sr., D
Caylee Waters, North Carolina – So., G
Cortney Fortunato, Notre Dame - So., A
Barbara Sullivan, Notre Dame - Sr., D
Kayla Treanor, Syracuse - Jr., A
Casey Bocklet, Virginia - Sr., A
Morgan Stephens, Virginia - Sr., D
Courtney Swan, Virginia - Sr., A