Eleven ACC Women’s Tennis Teams in NCAA Tournament

ACC’s 11 bids are the most in conference history

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Eleven Atlantic Coast Conference teams made the 2016 NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Championship field, a new conference record. Third-seeded North Carolina is the league’s top seeded team, followed by No. 7 Miami, No. 9 Duke, 14th-ranked Virginia, Clemson, Georgia Tech, NC State, Notre Dame, Syracuse, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest also earned bids, as announced by the NCAA Tuesday evening.

The 11 ACC teams in the Championship are tied with the SEC for the most of any conference.

The first two rounds of the tournament will take place May 13-14 and will feature four teams playing in a single-elimination format. The winner of each site advances to the Case Tennis Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma, where the final 16 teams will compete for the national championship May 19-24. The event will be hosted by The University of Tulsa.

North Carolina, Miami, Duke and Virginia will each host first and second round matchups of the Championship. The Tar Heels (29-2), the 2016 ACC Champions, will play East Tennessee State (20-2) in the first round, the Hurricanes (19-5) are matched up with Quinnipiac (15-10), the Blue Devils (18-6) will take on VCU (12-9), and the Cavaliers (16-10) will square off with Fairleigh Dickinson (8-6).

Other ACC teams in the first round include Clemson (10-10) against Rice (13-9), Georgia Tech (17-8) versus Princeton (13-9), NC State (15-11) pitted against Arizona State (17-5), Notre Dame (14-13) versus UCLA (14-6), Syracuse (14-8) against Georgia State (15-5), Virginia Tech (14-10) versus Mississippi State (17-8), and Wake Forest (19-9) against Baylor (17-14).