Eight Teams Earn Spots in NCAA Women’s Tennis Field

Tar Heels earn ACC’s top seed

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Second-seeded North Carolina leads a group of eight Atlantic Coast Conference teams in the 2015 NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Championship field. Ninth-seeded Virginia, 15th-seeded Miami, Clemson, Duke, Georgia Tech, Notre Dame and Virginia Tech also earned spots in the Championships, as announced by the NCAA Tuesday evening.

First- and second-round competition takes place May 8-9 or 9-10 and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format. The winner of each site advances to the Hurd Tennis Center in Waco, Texas, where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship May 15-19. The event will be hosted by Baylor University.

North Carolina, Virginia and Miami will each serve as host sites for the first and second round of the Championship. The Tar Heels (27-1) will open play against Quinnipiac (14-8), while the Cavaliers (21-5) will take on VCU (16-8) and the Hurricanes (16-6) will square off with North Florida (17-3).

Other first round matchups include Virginia Tech (16-9) versus Long Beach State (18-5), Georgia Tech (16-9) against Wichita State (24-3), Clemson (16-9) versus South Alabama (21-2), Duke (16-9) pitted against Purdue (14-8) and Notre Dame (14-10) versus TCU (18-8).