Duke’s Cash Named Winner Of Jim Tatum Award

Blue Devils’ All-American also excels in the classroom

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Duke senior safety Jeremy Cash has been named the recipient of the 2015 Jim Tatum Award, ACC Commissioner John Swofford announced Thursday.

The Tatum Award is given annually in memory of the late Jim Tatum to the top senior student-athlete (in athletic eligibility) among the league's football players. Tatum, a two-time ACC Coach of the Year, coached in the 1950s at both Maryland and North Carolina and believed strongly in the concept of the student-athlete

The 2015 Tatum Award will be presented at the ACC’s Night of Legends event, which will be held Friday (5:30 p.m.) at the Charlotte Convention Center as part of the festivities held around the Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game.

Cash earlier in the week received the 2015 ACC Defensive Player of the Year award presented by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA), making him the first student-athlete to receive the Tatum Award and a major ACC award in the same year. 

Cash, who has posted a 3.8 grade point average while pursuing a graduate degree in liberal studies, has earned the Atlantic Coast Conference’s 2015 Jim Tatum Award with an impressive resume of both on-field and off-field accomplishments.

“Jeremy Cash is more than a great football player,” Duke head coach David Cutcliffe said. “Obviously, he has his priorities in order in regards to all of the different elements of being a successful student-athlete.  He is a team captain and team leader. He is a great student and friend.”

A member of the 2014 All-ACC Football Academic Team, the Miami, Florida, native has earned a spot on the ACC Academic Honor Roll each of the past three years and is currently eligible for a fourth selection. Cash, who already holds an undergraduate degree in psychology, is a finalist for the prestigious Senior CLASS Award and the Lott IMPACT Trophy.

Cash is also one of five finalists for the Nagurski Trophy awarded to the nation’s top defensive player and the Jim Thorpe Award, presented to the nation’s top defensive back. A second-team All-America selection in 2013 and 2014, Cash has been even more impressive this fall, ranking among the top 10 nationally in tackles for loss. He is the only defensive back to rank among the nation’s top 50 in that category.

Cash is the fourth consecutive Duke student-athlete to receive the Jim Tatum Award after Blue Devil quarterback Sean Renfree was recognized in 2012, offensive tackle Perry Simmons in 2013, and linebacker David Helton last season. Duke boasts an ACC-leading eight total Tatum Award recipients.

ACC Jim Tatum Award Winners
1979 - Scott Hamilton, Duke, G
1980-81 - No Award
1982 - Pat Chester, Virginia, S and Phil Denfield, Wake Forest, TE
1983-84 - Not Available
1985 - Kevin Anthony, North Carolina, QB
1986 - David Cardenas, Virginia, DB
1987-88 - Not Available
1989 - Doug Kley, Duke, DT
1990 - Charlie Cobb, NC State, C
1991 - Steve Ainsworth, Wake Forest, OL
1992 - Not Available
1993 - Thomas Burns, Virginia, LB
1994 - Ed Glenn, Clemson, TE
1995 - Russell Babb, North Carolina, OT
1996 - Daryl Bush, Florida State, DB
1997 - Stephen Phelan, Virginia, DB and Jonathan Claiborne, Maryland, S
1998 - Ebenezer Ekuban, North Carolina, DE
1999 - Noel LaMontagne, Virginia, G
2000 - Louis Marchetti, North Carolina, OT
2001 - Kyle Young, Clemson, C
2002 - Jeremy Muyres, Georgia Tech, DB
2003 - Chris Douglas, Duke, RB
2004 - Nick Novak, Maryland, PK
2005 - Brendan Dewan, Duke, LB and David Castillo, Florida State, C
2006  - Josh Wilson, Maryland, DB
2007  - Tom Santi, Virginia, TE
2008   - Darryl Richard, Georgia Tech, DT
2009 - Riley Skinner, Wake Forest, QB
2010 - Christian Ponder, Florida State, QB
2011 - Danny Coale, Virginia Tech, WR-P
2012 - Sean Renfree, Duke, QB
2013 - Perry Simmons, Duke, OT
2014 - David Helton, Duke, LB
2015 - Jeremy Cash, Duke, S