Clougherty to Retire Following the 2015-16 Basketball Season

ACC Coordinator of Men’s Basketball Officials has served since 2005

GREENSBORO, NC – ACC Coordinator of Men’s Basketball Officials John Clougherty has announced he will retire at the conclusion of the 2015-16 men’s basketball season following over 40 years of service to collegiate basketball.

"John Clougherty continues to serve the Atlantic Coast Conference and the sport of college basketball with great integrity and passion,” said ACC Commissioner John Swofford. “As we look ahead to the upcoming season, we appreciate John’s continued dedication and leadership of our men’s basketball officiating program.”

“First and foremost, I’d like to thank Commissioner Swofford for giving me the opportunity to lead the ACC Men’s Basketball officiating program,” said John Clougherty. “It’s been a privilege to work hand in hand with the league’s coaches, administrators and conference office staff. Although the 2015-16 season will be my last, I know I’ll always be part of the ACC family.”

Clougherty, who served as an NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Official for 30 years, was named the ACC Coordinator of Men’s Basketball Officials in June 2005. During his tenure on the court, he officiated 26 consecutive NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournaments as well as 12 Final Fours, including four NCAA Championship Games.  Clougherty has received the James Naismith Official of the Year, the NIT Officials Award as well as inclusion into the North Carolina High School Athletic Association Hall of Fame, and on May 15th, he will also be inducted into the North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame.

As the ACC Coordinator of Men’s Basketball Officials, Clougherty has overseen the expansion of the men’s basketball officiating staff, the management of all evaluations and ratings, and numerous training and educational opportunities to promote the recruitment and development of ACC Men’s Basketball Officials.

About the ACC

The Atlantic Coast Conference, now in its 62nd year of competition and 15 members strong, has long enjoyed the reputation as one of the strongest and most competitive intercollegiate conferences in the nation. ACC members Boston College, Clemson, Duke, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Louisville, Miami, North Carolina, NC State, Notre Dame, Pitt, Syracuse, Virginia, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest continue to build upon the cornerstones on which the league was founded in 1953 with a consistent balance of academics, athletics and integrity.  For more information, visit and follow @theACC on Twitter and on