Atlantic Coast Conference Sending 36 Wrestlers to NCAA Championships

Conference Gains Six At-Large Invitations
NC State’s Gwiazdowski Seeded First at 285; Pitt’s Thomusseit Seeded Second at 184

GREENSBORO, N.C.—The Atlantic Coast Conference will have 36 wrestlers competing at the NCAA National Championships March 19-21 at the Scottrade Center in St. Louis, Mo.

In all, the ACC received 29 automatic bids and seven at-large invitations for the Championship.

The Conference also had 15 wrestlers receive national seeds in their respective weight classes, led by Top seeded Nick Gwiazdowski of NC State at 285 pounds; No. 2 seed Max Thomusseit of Pitt at 184; No. 3 seed Joey Dance of Virginia Tech at 125; and a pair of No. 4 seeds in Devin Carter of Virginia tech at 141 and Nick Sulzer of Virginia at 165.

Virginia Tech led all ACC schools with eight invitees, including five seeded wrestlers led by 125-pound Dance and Carter; 149-pound Sal Mastriani (seventh seed), 174-pound Zach Epperly (seventh seed) and Ty Walz (10th seed).  Also earning invitations for Tech included Kevin Norstrem at 133 and Jared Haught at 197.

ACC Champion Virginia was next with seven wrestlers headed to the NCAA National Championships including three wrestlers who earned national seeds in Sulver, Blaise Butler (fifth seed) at 174 and George DiCamillo (12th seed) at 133. The Cavaliers also had Nick Herrman (125), Joe Spisak (141), Andrew Atkinson (157) and Zach Nye (197) earn NCAA invites,

Pitt, which finished second at this year’s ACC Championship, had six wrestlers selected, including three who were nationally seed in Thomusseit at 184, Tyler Wilps (eighth seed) at 174 and Mikey Racciato (16th Seed) at 149. Joining them are Dom Forys at 125, Troy Reaghard at 165, and Ryan Solomon at 285.

NC State, North Carolina, and Duke each had five wrestlers selected.

The Wolfpack is led by No. 1-seed and defending national champion Nick Gwiazdowski at 285, but also had Joe DeAngelo at 125, Kevin Jack at 141, Max Rohskopf at 165 and Peter Renda at 174 earn bids. Gwiazdowksi enters the Championship having won 50 consecutive matches.

The Tar Heels have two seeded wrestlers in 12th-seed Joey Ward at 141 and 16th seed Ethan Ramos at 165. Joining them in St. Louis will be Troy Heilmann at 133, Christian Barber at 149 and John Michael Staudenmayer at 174.

The Blue Devils are led by 2014 All-American Conner Hartmann at 197. Hartmann enters this year’s Championship as the No. 10 seed at 197. He is joined by Mitch Finesilver at 133, Marcus Cain at 149, Immanuel Kerr-Brown at 157 and Jacob Kasper at 184.

A total of five ACC wrestlers are seeking to repeat as All-Americans (top eight finish), led by Hartmann and including Dance and Carter from Virginia Tech, Sulver of Virginia, Wilps of Pitt and Gwiazdowski of NC State. Virginia Tech’s Nick Brascetta earned All-American honors in 2013, but redshirted last year.                                                                                                                                                                                      

ACC NCAA Wrestling Championship Qualifiers

Duke (5)                                                                                                                                  

Mitch Finesilver (133)

Marcus Cain (149)

@Immanuel Kerr-Brown (157)

Jacob Kasper (184)

*Conner Hartmann (197)--#10 Seed

North Carolina (5)

Troy Heilmann (133)

Joey Ward (141)—#12 Seed

Christian Barber (149)

Ethan Ramos (165)--#15 Seed

John Michael Staudenmayer (174) 

NC State (5)

@Joe DeAngelo (125)

Kevin Jack (141)

@Max Rohskopf (165)

Pete Renda (174)

*Nick Gwiazdowski (285)--#1 Seed 

Pitt (6)

Dom Forys (125)

*Mikey Racciato (149)--#16 Seed

Troy Reaghard (165)

*Tyler Wilps (174)--#8 Seed

*Max Thomusseit (184)--#2 Seed

Ryan Solomon (285)

Virginia (7)

Nick Herrman (125)

*George DiCamillo (133)—#12 Seed

Joe Spisak (141)

Andrew Atkinson (157)

*Nick Sulzer (165)--#4 Seed

Blaise Butler (174)--#5 Seed

Zach Nye (197)

Virginia Tech (8)

*Joey Dance (125)--#3 Seed

@Kevin Norstrem  (133)

*Devin Carter (141)--#4 Seed

@Sal Mastriani (149)--#7 Seed

*#Nick Brascetta (157)

Zach Epperly (174)--#7 Seed

@Jared Haught (197)

@Ty Walz (285)--#10 Seed

*Denotes 2015 ACC Champion

Boldface Denotes 2014 All-American

@ Denotes 2013 All-American

&Denotes At-Large Selection