All-ACC Women's Basketball Academic Team Announced

Duke's Elizabeth Williams receives Kay Yow Award as Scholar-Athlete of the Year                 

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Duke senior Elizabeth Williams has been named the recipient of the seventh annual Kay Yow Scholar Athlete of the Year Award and headlines the 2014-15 All-ACC Women's Basketball Academic Team, as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

The honor is the third of the week for Williams, a 6-foot-3 forward/center from Virginia Beach, Virginia. Williams on Tuesday was named an All-ACC first-team selection for the fourth straight season and on Wednesday earned the nod as ACC Defensive Player of the Year for fourth straight time. Williams is the only player in league history to earn four ACC Defensive Player of the Year honors and  only the second to  earn All-ACC first-team honors each of her four collegiate seasons.

The ACC women’s basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year award is named in memory of the legendary Yow, who won 737 games as a head coach while directing NC State to four ACC Tournament championships and the 1988 U.S. Olympic Team to a gold medal.  Yow, who passed away in January of 2009, is also remembered for her leadership and courage in her fight against breast cancer.

“For Elizabeth obviously it’s a great honor and it fits perfectly because Kay Yow was a woman of great strength and always doing things the right way with purpose and a great deal of faith,” said Duke head coach Joanne P. McCallie.  “Elizabeth Williams is a woman of great faith and purpose.  It is a natural fit and I think Kay would be very proud.”

Williams enters play in this week’s ACC Women’s Tournament at the Greensboro Coliseum averaging 14.8 points, 8.7 rebounds, 2.4 assists, 2.9 blocks and 1.6 steals for the Blue Devils.  She currently ranks 17th in the NCAA in blocks and currently leads all centers nationally with a 2.4 assist per game average.  The three-time All-American owns nine double-doubles on the year, including five in ACC action.

Last week, Williams was selected to the 2014-15 Capital One Academic All-America Team for Division I. Obtaining a degree in psychology and planning on going into the medical field, she  is a two-time CoSIDA Academic All-District III honoree, three-time ACC All-Academic Team and two-time ACC Honor Roll selection.  She was named to the Dean’s List at Duke in the spring of 2012.

Louisville and Pitt lead all schools with three student-athletes named to the All-ACC Women’s Basketball Academic Team. Boston College, Duke, Virginia and Virginia Tech each placed two members on the team.

In addition to Duke’s Williams this year’s All-ACC Academic Team includes three other student-athletes who earned All-ACC honors in Pitt’s Brianna Kiesel, Louisville’s Mariya Moore and Virginia’s Faith Randolph. Kiesel stepped up to average 18.5 points per game for the Panthers during the regular season while ranking second among conference players in assists at 4.7 per game. Moore ranks sixth among ACC assist leaders (3.7) while scoring close to 14 points per contest. Randolph leads the ACC in free-throw percentage.

Williams and Kiesel are repeat selections from the 2013-14 All-ACC Academic Team, along with Boston College’s Nicole Boudreau and Syracuse’s Brianna Butler.

ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters. The award is based 60 percent on academic achievement and 40 percent on athletic accomplishment.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic Team, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.0 cumulative average during her academic career.

2014-15 All-ACC Women’s Basketball Academic Team

Nicole Boudreau, Jr., G, Boston College

Kelly Hughes, So., G, Boston College

Tiffany Lewis, So., G, Clemson

Elizabeth Williams, Sr., C/F, Duke (Kay Yow Scholar Athlete of the Year)

Rebecca Greenwell, R-Fr., G, Duke

Brittany Brown, So., G, Florida State

Roddreka Rogers, Jr., F, Georgia Tech

Sara Hammond, Sr., F., Louisville

Myisha Hines-Allen, Fr., F, Louisville

Mariya Moore, Fr., F, Louisville

Jassany, Williams, GS, F, Miami

Ashley Williams, So., G, NC State

Brianna Kiesel, Sr., G, Pitt

Yacine Diop, Fr., F, Pitt

Monica Wignot, GS, F/C Pitt

Brianna Butler, Jr., G, Syracuse

Breyana Mason, So., G, Virginia

Faith Randolph, Jr., G, Virginia

Rachel Camp, Fr, G, Virginia Tech

Vanessa Panousis, So., G, Virginia Tech