All-ACC Women’s Basketball Team and All-Freshman Team Announced

All-ACC Team feature six repeat selections

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Regular-season champion Notre Dame leads the way with three players named to 2015-16 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Basketball First Team, as voted on by the league’s Blue Ribbon Panel.

Grad student Madison Cable, junior Lindsay Allen and sophomore Brianna Turner represent the Fighting Irish, who are ranked second nationally and will carry a 28-1 overall record into this week’s 39th annual ACC Women’s Basketball Tournament at the Greensboro Coliseum.

Sophomores Myisha Hines-Allen and Mariya Moore of second-place and seventh-ranked Louisville were also voted to the 10-member All-ACC First Team. They are joined by Duke sophomore Azurá Stevens, Florida State sophomore Shakayla Thomas, Georgia Tech senior Aaliyah Whiteside, Miami junior Adrienne Motley and Syracuse junior Alexis Peterson.

Florida State senior Adut Bulgak, Duke redshirt sophomore Rebecca Greenwell, North Carolina freshman Stephanie Watts, and NC State juniors Miah Spencer and Dominique Wilson make up the five-member second team.

UNC’s Watts was also voted to the ACC’s 2015-16 All-Freshman Team. She is joined on the eight-member team by Boston College’s Mariella Fasoula, Louisville’s Asia Durr, UNC’s Destinee Walker, Notre Dame’s Marina Mabrey and Arike Ogunbowale, Pitt’s Brenna Wise and Wake Forest’s Ariel Stephenson.

Duke’s Stevens, Louisville’s Moore, Miami’s Motley, Notre Dame’s Turner, Syracuse’s Peterson and Florida State’s Bulgak were all named first- or second-team All-ACC in 2014-15. Stevens, Turner, Moore and Florida State’s Thomas were members of last year’s ACC All-Freshman Team.

The All-ACC First Team features the ACC’s top five scorers in Georgia Tech’s Whiteside (19. 4 points per game), Duke’s Stevens (19.1), Florida State’s Thomas (17.3), Louisville’s Hines-Allen (17.3) and Miami’s Motley (17.0). Stevens leads the conference in rebounding (9.4), while Hines-Allen ranks fourth with 8.1 per game.

Notre Dame’s Turner leads the conference in field goal percentage (.618) and blocked shots 72, while teammate Allen has handed out a league-leading 5.7 assists per game. The Fighting Irish’s Cable is shooting an ACC-leading .457 from 3-point range. Syracuse’s Peterson ranks second in assists at 5.2 per contest, and Florida State’s Thomas is second in overall field goal percentage at .559.

The ACC will announce its Player, Freshman and Coach of the Year as selected by the Blue Ribbon Panel on Wednesday (March 2). The ACC coaches Defensive and Sixth Player of Year will also be announced on Wednesday.

The 39th annual ACC Women’s Basketball Tournament will tip off on Wednesday, March 2 at 1 p.m., and will conclude with the Championship game on Sunday, March 6 at 12:30 p.m.

Tickets may be purchased at via Ticketmaster’s charge-by-phone network at 1-800-745-3000 and at the Coliseum box office.

All-ACC Team as selected by the ACC’s Blue Ribbon Panel
First Team
Azurá Stevens, So., F/G, Duke
Shakayla Thomas, So., F, Florida State
Aaliyah Whiteside, Sr., G/F, Georgia Tech
Myisha Hines-Allen, So., F, Louisville
Mariya Moore, So., F, Louisville
Adrienne Motley, Jr., G, Miami
Lindsay Allen, Jr., G, Notre Dame
Madison Cable, GS, G, Notre Dame
Brianna Turner, So., F, Notre Dame
Alexis Peterson, Jr., G, Syracuse

Second Team
Adut Bulgak, Sr., C, Florida State
Rebecca Greenwell, R-So., G, Duke
Stephanie Watts, Fr., G, North Carolina
Miah Spencer, Jr., G, NC State
Dominique Wilson, R-Jr., G, NC State

All-Freshman Team
Mariella Fasoula, Fr., C, Boston College
Asia Durr, Fr., G, Louisville
Stephanie Watts, Fr., G, North Carolina
Destinee Walker, Fr., G, North Carolina
Marina Mabrey, Fr., G, Notre Dame
Arike Ogunbowale, Fr., G, Notre Dame
Brenna Wise, Fr., G/F, Pitt
Ariel Stephenson, Fr., G, Wake Forest