All-ACC Women's Basketball Academic Team Announced

NC State’s Williams receives Kay Yow Award as Scholar-Athlete of the Year

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – NC State junior guard Ashley Williams has been named the recipient of the eighth annual Kay Yow Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award and headlines the 2015-16 All-ACC Women's Basketball Academic Team, as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

The ACC women’s basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year award is named in memory of the legendary Yow, who won 737 games as a head coach while directing NC State to four ACC Tournament championships and the 1988 U.S. Olympic Team to a gold medal. Yow, who passed away in January of 2009, is also remembered for her leadership and courage in her fight against breast cancer.

Williams enters play in this week’s ACC Women’s Basketball Tournament at the Greensboro Coliseum averaging 6.1 points, 3.9 rebounds and 2.2 assists per game. The Cary, North Carolina, native appeared in all 29 of the Wolfpack’s regular-season games and starting 27 contests. Williams ranks 15th among ACC players in 3-point shooting having connected on 48 shots from long range in 136 attempts.

An industrial engineering major, Williams is a CoSIDA Academic All-District First Team honoree and earned a spot on NC State’s Dean’s List in the fall of 2015. She received recognition as an NC State Top 10 Scholar-Athlete with a grade point average that ranks among the 10 highest of all student-athletes enrolled at the university.

Williams is a repeat selection to the All-ACC Women’s Basketball Academic Team, having also earned recognition last year as a sophomore.

Florida State leads all schools with three student-athletes named to the 2015-16 All-ACC Women’s Basketball Team. Duke, Georgia Tech, Miami, NC State, Notre Dame, Virginia and Virginia Tech each had two student-athletes that earned spots on the 23-member squad.

Boston College’s Nicole Boudreau was named to the All-ACC Academic Team for the fourth time, and Syracuse’s Brianna Butler is a three-time selection.

Duke’s Rebecca Greenwell, Florida State’s Brittany Brown, Georgia Tech’s Roddreka Rogers, Virginia’s Breyana Mason and Faith Randolph, and Virginia Tech’s Vanessa Panousis join NC State’s Williams as first-time repeat selections.
ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters. The award is based 60 percent on academic achievement and 40 percent on athletic accomplishment.

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.

Kay Yow Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Ashley Williams, Jr., G, NC State

2015-16 ACC All-Academic Women’s Basketball Team
Nicole Boudreau, Sr., G, Boston College ****
Danielle Edwards, Fr., G, Clemson
Rebecca Greenwell, R-So., G, Duke **
Kyra Lambert, Fr., G, Duke
Brittany Brown, Jr., G, Florida State **
Leticia Romero, Jr., G, Florida State
Ivey Slaughter, Jr., F, Florida State
Antonia Peresson, So., G, Georgia Tech
Roddreka Rogers, Sr., F, Georgia Tech **
Briahanna Jackson, R-Jr., G, Louisville
Emese Hof, Fr, F/C, Miami
Jessica Thomas, Jr., G, Miami
Destinee Walker, Fr., G, North Carolina
Ashley Williams, Jr., G, NC State**
Jennifer Mathurin, Jr., F, NC State
Marina Mabrey, Fr., G, Notre Dame
Arike Ogunbowale, Fr., G, Notre Dame
Brenna Wise, Fr., F, Pitt
Brianna Butler, Sr., G, Syracuse ***
Breyana Mason, Jr., G Virginia **
Faith Randolph, Sr., G, Virginia **
Vanessa Panousis, Jr., G, Virginia Tech **
Regan Magarity, R-Fr., F, Virginia Tech
Ariel Stephenson, Fr., G, Wake Forest