ACSMA 2015 All-ACC Freshman Team Announced

Duke’s Okafor earns unanimous recognition

GREENSBORO, N.C. – USBWA Freshman of the Year finalists Jahlil Okafor, Tyus Jones and Justise Winslow, all of Duke, headline the five-member 2014-15 All-ACC Freshman Team as selected by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA).

The Blue Devil trio is joined by Florida State’s Xavier Rathan-Mayes and North Carolina’s Justin Jackson.

Duke’s Okafor, a 6-foot-11 center from Chicago, ranks second among ACC scorers at 17.6 points per game and third in rebounding at 9.2 per contest. Okafor has scored 10 or more points in 29 of his 30 games coming into this week’s ACC Tournament, and his 11 “double doubles” in points/rebounds rank fourth in the conference.

Jones leads the ACC in free throw percentage (.882) and is second in assists (5.7) while Winslow is averaging 12.4 points and 5.8 rebounds, and along with Jones, has started all 31 games of the year for the third-ranked Blue Devils.

Florida State’s Xavier-Mayes has scored 20 or more points seven times this season, including two 35-point efforts and leads the Seminoles, and ranks second among all ACC freshmen, in both scoring (14.4) and assists (4.4).

North Carolina’s Jackson closed out the regular season averaging 13.0 points and 5.3 rebounds over his last five games. On the year in 31 games, including 30 starts, Jackson is fourth on the team in scoring (10.1) and third in assists (2.5).

2014-15 ACSMA All-ACC Freshman Team

Jahlil Okafor, Duke, *64
Tyus Jones, Duke, 62
Justise Winslow, Duke, 59
Xavier Rathan-Mayes, Florida State, 57
Justin Jackson, North Carolina, 22
*denotes unanimous