ACC Women’s Basketball - Loyd and Semrau Honored by espnW

Loyd named National Player of the Year; Semrau National Coach of the Year

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Notre Dame junior guard Jewell Loyd and Florida State head coach Sue Semrau were honored by espnW Friday as Loyd was selected as the 2014-15 espnW National Player of the Year and Semrau as the 2014-15 espnW National Coach of Year.

Loyd, the Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year named by both the Blue Ribbon Panel and Head Coaches, the ACC Tournament MVP and a first team all-ACC selection, is the first Fighting Irish player to earn a national player of the year award since Ruth Riley did so in 2001. Loyd has averaged an ACC-leading 20.5 points per game and handed out 3.1 assists per contests while pacing the Fighting Irish to a 31-2 season that included a 15-1 mark in ACC regular-season play and a second-straight ACC title. The 5-foot-10 native of Lincolnwood, Illinois, is one of the leading candidates for every major national player-of-the-year honor, including the Naismith Trophy, Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) Wade Trophy, John R. Wooden Award and Dawn Staley Award.

Semrau, the ACC Coach of the Year as selected by the Blue Ribbon Panel and Head Coaches, guided the Seminoles to a 29-4 overall record, a 14-2 mark in ACC play. The seventh-ranked Seminoles reached the ACC Tournament finals for the first time and have set a school single-season record for wins. The Seminoles’ record-breaking campaign so far has been just one side of Semrau’s latest honor. FSU is approaching its first 30-win season ever.

The NCAA will unveil its field of 64 for the 2015 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship on Monday, March 16 live on ESPN at 7 p.m.