ACC Women’s Basketball Legends Brunch to be Held March 7

Fox 8’s Cindy Farmer and basketball analyst Chelsea Shine Wilson to host event honoring ACC Women’s Basketball greats

GREENSBORO, NC – The Atlantic Coast Conference will host the ACC Women’s Basketball Legends Brunch at 10 a.m. on Saturday, March 7 at the Greensboro Coliseum Special Events Center in Greensboro, North Carolina. The Legends will then be introduced to the Coliseum crowd at halftime of the first semifinal game that afternoon.

The event will embody the true spirit of ACC Women’s Basketball and will offer attendees the opportunity to meet some of the biggest names in women’s basketball.

Cindy Farmer, morning news anchor for FOX 8 News, will serve as emcee for the event. Chelsea Shine Wilson, color analyst for Raycom Sports Network and ESPN3, will present the Legends. 

“All of the ACC Legends represent what is so great about women’s basketball,” ACC Senior Associate Commissioner Nora Lynn Finch said. "Our signature event is a celebration of outstanding students and coaches whose contributions built our storied and proud past, which will be hosted in the Greensboro Coliseum Special Events Center alongside our fiercely competitive conference Championship, giving us a stage to enjoy our past and present side by side!"

The ACC Women’s Basketball Legends class will be available for autographs 5-6 p.m. on Friday, March 6 at ACC FanFest at the Pavilion adjacent to the Greensboro Coliseum.  

The league’s website,, will highlight the class of 2015 ACC Women’s Basketball Legends.  More information can be found at

Included in this year's class are 14 former-student-athletes and one former head coach who represent five decades of women's basketball. Below is a complete list of this year's Legends:

2015 ACC Women's Basketball Legends 

Clare Droesch, Boston College

Amy Geren McGowan, Clemson

 Alana Beard, Duke

Cherry Rivers, Florida State

Sonja Mallory Gamby, Georgia Tech

Nell Knox, Louisville

Ferne Labati, Miami

Tracy Reid, North Carolina

Jennifer Howard Wolgemuth, NC State                

Natalie Achonwa, Notre Dame

Debbie Lewis, Pitt

Martha Mogish Rowe, Syracuse

Audra Smith, Virginia

Kerri Gardin, Virginia Tech

Janice Collins, Wake Forest