Trio from ACC Named Senior CLASS Award Candidates for Women's Soccer

Schmid, Nielsen and Roccaro named to the 30 person list

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – A trio of ACC women’s soccer players who excel both on and off the field have been named candidates for the 2015 Senior CLASS Award. Among the 30 candidates vying for the annual honor are Florida State’s Isabella Schmid, North Carolina’s Paige Nielsen and Notre Dame’s Cari Roccaro. 

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

The list will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

An ACC student-athlete has won the Senior CLASS Award in women’s soccer twice since the award’s inception in 2007 with North Carolina’s Kealia Ohai being the most recent winner in 2013. 

The 2015 Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the Women’s College Cup in December.