ACC Women’s Soccer: Seven Teams Selected for the NCAA Championship

Six teams earn national seeds

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Highlighted by six total national seeds, the Atlantic Coast Conference placed seven teams in the 2016 NCAA Division I Women’s Soccer Championship field announced Monday afternoon. 

ACC co-regular season champion Notre Dame (13-3-4) and ACC Championship runner-up North Carolina (13-3-4) were each awarded No. 2 seeds, while ACC Champion Florida State (13-3-4), regular season co-champion Clemson (13-4-3), Duke (12-4-3) and Virginia (13-4-2) were given No. 3 seeds. Those six teams will host first-round games on either Nov. 11, 12 or 13. 

NC State (10-8-1) joins those six in the field of 64 to mark the 18th straight year that at least six ACC teams have been selected to the tournament, and the 13th time in the last 14 years that at least seven league teams have been selected.   

North Carolina will be seeking its 22nd NCAA Championship and 23rd national title overall. The Tar Heels are the only Division I program that has earned a spot in the NCAA Championship  each of the 35 years since its inception in 1982 and own a 121-11-3 record in the event. 

2014 NCAA Champion Florida State has been part of the tournament every year since 2000 (17 straight appearances), and has reached the College Cup nine times during that run, including each of the past five seasons. 

Several other ACC teams will extend notable streaks with this year’s NCAA appearances. Notre Dame will play in its 24th NCAA Tournament and is in search of its fourth title. Virginia is in the field for the 23rd straight year and 29th overall, while Clemson is among the field of 64 for the third straight season and 17th time overall, and Duke is in for a second year in a row and 22nd time in program history.

NC State earned an NCAA Championship berth for the first time since 1996 and 12th time overall. 

First-round matches will be played at campus sites Nov. 11, 12 or 13. First-round matches include Florida State hosting Southern Conference Champion Samford (15-3-2), Virginia hosting Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Champion Monmouth (14-4-2), Clemson hosting Colonial Athletic Association Champion Northeastern (14-6-1), Duke hosting Conference USA Champion Charlotte (11-8-2), North Carolina hosting Big South Champion Liberty (14-7-0) and Notre Dame hosting Ohio Valley Conference Champion SIU Edwardsville (10-7-4). NC State will travel to Big Ten Champion Minnesota (16-3-3) for its first-round match.  

Second-round matches will be played Friday, Nov. 18, at campus sites, and third-round matches will be played Sunday, Nov. 20, at the same campus sites. Quarterfinal matches will be played Nov. 25 or 26, also on campus sites.

The 35th annual NCAA Women’s College Cup will be played Dec. 2 and Dec. 4 at Avaya Stadium in San Jose, California. The first national semifinal on Friday, Dec. 2, will be played and shown live on ESPNU at 5 p.m. ET p.m., and the second semifinal will begin at approximately 7:30 p.m. ET and air live on ESPNU. The national championship match will take place Sunday, Dec. 4 at 6 p.m. ET, and will also broadcast live on ESPNU.