ACC Women’s Soccer: Eight Teams Selected for the NCAA Championship

Florida State and Virginia earn No. 1 seeds; seven national seeds overall

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Highlighted by two No. 1 seeds and seven total national seeds, the Atlantic Coast Conference placed eight teams in the 2015 NCAA Division I Women’s Soccer Championship field announced Monday afternoon.

ACC Champion Florida State (14-2-4) and ACC regular-season champion Virginia (16-1-2) were each  awarded No. 1 seeds. The Seminoles earned a No. 1 seed for the fifth straight year and sixth time overall, while the Cavaliers are a No. 1 seed for the second time in program history. Clemson (13-4-1) was given a No. 2 seed, and Duke (10-5-4), North Carolina (14-4-1) and Notre Dame (13-4-1) were tabbed No. 3 seeds. Virginia Tech (14-3-2), a No. 4 seed, rounds out the ACC’s contingent of seven teams that were awarded national seeds and will host first-round games on either Nov. 14, 15 or 16.

Boston College (11-6-2) joins those seven in the field of 64 to mark the 17th straight year that at least six ACC teams have been selected to the tournament field, and the eighth time in the last nine years that at least eight league teams have been selected.

2014 NCAA Champion and top-seeded Florida State has been part of the tournament every year since 2000 (16 straight appearances), and has reached the College Cup eight times during that run, including each of the past four seasons. The Seminoles begin their title defense this weekend against Missouri Valley Conference Champion Evansville.

North Carolina will be seeking its 22nd NCAA Championship and 23rd national title overall. The Tar Heels are the only Division I program that has earned a spot in the NCAA Championship  each of the 34 years since its inception in 1982 and owns a 120-10-3 record in the event.

Several other ACC teams will extend notable streaks with this year’s NCAA appearances. Notre Dame will play in its 23rd NCAA Tournament and is in search of its fourth title. Virginia is in the field for the 22nd straight year and 28th overall. Virginia Tech is in the tournament for the eighth straight year (ninth overall), while Clemson is among the field of 64 for second straight season and 16th time overall.

Boston College and Duke are back in after missing the tournament in 2014. The Eagles are making their 18th appearance, while the Blue Devils earned a berth for the 21st time in program history.

First-round matches will be played at campus sites Nov. 13, 14 or 15. Along with Florida State hosting Evansville (6-10-3), first-round matches include Virginia hosting SWAC Champion Howard (13-7-2), Clemson hosting Southern Conference Champion Furman (17-4-1), Duke hosting Colonial Champion James Madison (14-6-2), North Carolina hosting Big South Champion Liberty (13-7-1), Notre Dame hosting Horizon League Champion Oakland (8-5-7) and Virginia Tech hosting American Athletic Conference Champion Cincinnati (13-5-5). Boston College will travel to Ivy League Champion Princeton (13-3-1) for its first-round match. 

Second-round matches will be played Friday, Nov. 20, at campus sites, and third-round matches will be played Sunday, Nov. 22, at the same campus sites. Quarterfinal matches will be played Nov. 27 or 28, also on campus sites.

The 34th annual NCAA Women’s College Cup will be played Dec. 4 and Dec. 6 at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, N.C. The first national semifinal on Friday, Dec. 4, will be played and shown live on ESPNU at 5 p.m., and the second semifinal will begin at approximately 7:30 p.m. and air live on ESPNU. The national championship match will take place Sunday, Dec. 6 at Noon, and will also broadcast live on ESPNU.