ACC Women’s Soccer: ACC Alums Ready to Represent the U.S. in the World Cup

Former student-athletes from North Carolina, Virginia and Notre Dame ready for group play 

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) –  Nine former student-athletes representing three Atlantic Coast Conference institutions are on the 23-member U.S. Women’s National Team roster for the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup that begins on Saturday, June 6, in Canada. 

North Carolina’s Lori Chalupny , Whitney Engen, Ashlyn Harris, Tobin Heath, Meghan Klingenberg and Heather O’Reilly are all set for Group play to begin this weekend, as well as Virginia’s Morgan Brian and Becky Sauerbrunn. 

O’Reilly is on the U.S. World Cup roster for the third time in her career, Chalupny and Heath their second each, while Brian, Engen, Harris and Klingenberg will each participate in their first World Cup.

In addition to the eight former ACC players, Notre Dame’s Shannon Box will play in her fourth World Cup. 

In Canada, the USA will face Australia, Sweden and Nigeria in Group D at the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup. The USA opens against Australia on June 8 at Winnipeg Stadium, followed by Sweden on June 12 in Winnipeg and Nigeria on June 16 at BC Place in Vancouver.

The 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup runs from June 6-July 5, and all 52 games will be shown live on FOX, FOX Sports 1, FOX Sports 2 and on tablets and mobile devices through the FOX Sports GO app and FOXSportsGO.com.

U.S. in the Women’s World Cup Schedule

Group Play
Monday, June 8 – U.S. vs Australia
Friday, June 12 – U.S. vs Sweden
Tuesday, June 16 – U.S. vs Nigeria

Round of 16 – Saturday, June 2-Tuesday, June 23 
Quarterfinals – Friday, June 26 – Saturday, June 27
Semifinals – Tuesday, June 30 – Wednesday, July 1 
Final – Sunday, July 5