ACC Women’s Basketball: Four ACC Teams Selected to the 2016 WNIT

ACC has nine teams playing in postseason tournaments

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Four Atlantic Coast Conference teams - Georgia Tech, Virginia, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest - have been selected to the Women’s National Invitation Tournament (WNIT), and brings the ACC’s total postseason participants to nine. The Yellow Jackets, Cavaliers, Hokies and Demon Deacons and all begin play in the 64-team event on Thursday, March 17. 

All four teams were at-large selections and join fellow ACC members Florida State, Louisville, Miami, Notre Dame and Syracuse, all of which earned NCAA Championship berths, in continuing strong seasons.

Georgia Tech (19-12) will host Mercer, and Virginia Tech (17-13) will host Elon, while Virginia (16-15) travels to VCU and Wake Forest (16-15) plays at Charlotte. 

Should all three teams advance to the second round, the Yellow Jackets will meet the winner of Tulane and Alabama, the Cavaliers will play the winner of Rutgers and Georgetown, the Hokies will see the winner of Ohio and Marshall, and Wake Forest will play the winner of Florida Gulf Coast and Bethune-Cookman. All times, dates and location for the second round will be determined by the WNIT shortly after the previous round is complete.