ACC Women’s Basketball: 33 From ACC Schools on WNBA Opening Day Rosters

ACC leads all leagues with 33 on rosters for the 21st WNBA season

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The WNBA tips off its 21st season on Saturday, May 13, and the Atlantic Coast Conference is well represented with its 15 member institutions combining for 33 former players on opening day rosters. 

WNBA Tip-Off 2017 presented by Verizon will feature seven games this weekend.  The season officially gets underway today with three games highlighting opening night in the WNBA.  San Antonio will travel to New York (3 p.m., NBATV), Seattle will play at Los Angeles (5 p.m., ESPN) and Connecticut hosts Atlanta (7 p.m., League Pass). Sunday’s slate features San Antonio at Washington (3 p.m., League Pass), Dallas at Phoenix (6 p.m., Twitter), Indiana at Seattle (7 p.m., League Pass), and Chicago at Minnesota (7 p.m., League Pass). 
The ACC leads all leagues with 33 players on opening day rosters, including eight former Duke players, six from North Carolina and five from Notre Dame. At least one player from an ACC school is represented on each of the 12 WNBA teams.

The ACC had seven players selected in this year’s WNBA Draft, including Syracuse’s Brittney Sykes, who was selected with the seventh overall pick. 

ACC Players on WNBA Rosters
Atlanta Dream 
Brianna Kiesel, Pitt
Angel McCoughtry, Louisville
Brittney Sykes, Syracuse
Elizabeth Williams, Duke

Chicago Sky 
Jessica Breland, North Carolina 

Jasmine Thomas, Duke

Karima Christmas-Kelly, Duke
Skylar Diggins-Smith, Notre Dame

Natalie Achonwa, Notre Dame
Shenise Johnson, Miami
Erlana Larkins, North Carolina 

Los Angeles 
Alana Beard, Duke
Chelsea Gray, Duke
Riquna Williams, Miami

Natasha Howard, Florida State

New York 
Lindsay Allen, Notre Dame 
Shoni Schimmel, Louisville
SHavonte Zellous, Pitt

Camille Little, North Carolina 

San Antonio 
Kayla Alexander, Syracuse
Monique Currie, Duke
Dearica Hamby, Wake Forest
Kayla McBride, Notre Dame
Alex Montgomery, Georgia Tech 
Haley Peters, Duke

Jewell Loyd, Notre Dame
Alexis Peterson, Syracuse
Carolyn Swords, Boston College 

Ivory Latta, North Carolina
Tierra Ruffin-Pratt, North Carolina
LaToya Sanders, North Carolina
Asia Taylor, Louisville
Krystal Thomas, Duke