ACC Track & Field Set For 88 Events At NCAA Championships

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – The Atlantic Coast Conference will hold 88 spots – 46 in men’s events and 42 in women’s – in the 2016 NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships, which are set for Wednesday through Saturday at Eugene, Oregon.

A number of ACC student-athletes rank among the nation’s elite entering this week’s competition, including the nation’s top-ranked long jumper in Florida State grad student Stefan Brits, who registered a distance of 8.22 meters (26-11.75) to set a new meet record at last month’s ACC Championships.

Clemson senior Tevin Hester – who earlier this week was named the 2016 Southeast Region Men’s Track Outdoor Track Athlete of the Year by the USTFCCCA – owns the nation’s second-best times in both the 100-meter dash (9.99) and the 200 (20.13).

Southeast Region Female Field Athlete of the Year Megan Clark of Duke enters the NCAA Championships as the nation’s second-leading pole vaulter with an ACC record mark of 4.63 meters (15-2.25). Miami’s Alysha Newman – who outdistanced Clark for the gold medal at the ACC Championships – currently ranks third nationally at 4.60 meters (15-1).

Others ACC NCAA competitors ranking among the nation’s top three include Florida State’s Zac Seddon (No. 2 in the men’s steeplechase at 8:33.09), Miami’s Shakima Wimbley (No. 3 in the women’s 400 meters at 50.90), Syracuse’s Justyn Knight (No. 3 in the men’s 5,000 at 13:27.3) and Virginia’s Filip Mihaljevic (third in men’s discus at 62.43 meters).

In addition, several ACC competitors posted leading qualifying times or marks at last month’s NCAA East Prelims in Jacksonville, Florida – Duke senior Anima Banks in the women’s 800 (2:02.49), Miami junior Ebony Morrison in the women’s 100 hurdles (12.76), Florida State junior Kellion Knibb in the women’s discus (59.81 meters), Virginia Tech senior Thomas Curtin in the men’s 5,000 meters (14:06.44) and NC State senior Jonathan Addison in the long jump (7.92 meters).

The ACC boasts the nation’s top-two NCAA qualifiers in the women’s 800 meters (Duke’s Banks and Virginia Tech’s Hanna Green) and men’s 5,000 meters (Virginia Tech’s Curtin and Syracuse’s Knight). 

Five ACC student-athletes are among the 24 NCAA qualifiers in the men’s 10,000-meter run and four – all from Virginia Tech – qualified in the men’s pole vault. Four ACC throwers – two each from Virginia and Miami – are set for the men’s shot put.

On the women’s side, Morrison leads a group of four ACC entrants in the 100 hurdles. Four ACC participants are also expected for the women’s long jump.

The ACC champion Virginia Tech men will enter the NCAA Championships as the nation’s No. 7 team according to the latest USTFCCCA rankings. Virginia (No. 15), Syracuse (No. 17) and Clemson (No. 21) are also among the Top 25.

Miami leads ACC women’s squads in the team rankings at No. 14. ACC champion Florida State is at No. 17, while Duke hold the No. 24 spot and Notre Dame ranks 25th.

With a combined 10 men’s and women’s relay teams from ACC schools set to be a part of this week’s competition, a total of 114 conference student-athletes are expected to be entered in the 2016 NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships.

Portions of each day’s NCAA Championship competition will be televised live on an ESPN platform. Wednesday’s televised action will start at 7:30 p.m. (ET) on ESPN2, while Thursday’s event coverage will air on ESPNU at 7:30 p.m. and on ESPN at 8 p.m. 

ESPN will provide coverage on Friday beginning at 8:30 p.m.,  and on Saturday beginning at 8:30 p.m. and 6:30 p.m. Fans can also stream all four days online with ESPN3.

The top 12 East Preliminary and top 12 West Preliminary qualifiers in each individual and relay event earned spots in the NCAA Championships. Listed below are the ACC qualifiers in each event, with qualifying rank in parenthesis.

(NCAA qualifying placement in parenthesis)

100 meters – Tevin Hester, Clemson (6); Edward Clarke, Florida State (20)
200 meters – Tevin Hester, Clemson (11)
400 meters – Ceo Ways, North Carolina (8)
800 meters – Robert Heppenstall, Wake Forest (5); Patrick Joseph, Virginia Tech (17); 
1,500 meters – Henry Wynne, Virginia (18); Adam Palamar, Syracuse (21); Neil Gourley, Virginia Tech (22)
3,000 meters steeplechase – Edwin Kibichiy, Louisville (5); Zac Seddon, Florida State (10); Will Gray, Virginia (20) 
5,000 meters – Thomas Curtin, Virginia Tech (1); Justyn Knight, Syracuse (2); James Dwyer, Clemson (27)
10,000 meters – Luis Vargas, NC State (16); Shaun Thompson, Duke (20); Collin Bennie, Syracuse (22); George Parsons, NC State (23); Philo Germano, Syracuse (24)
110 hurdles – Freddie Crittenden III, Syracuse (3)
400 hurdles – Kenny Selmon, North Carolina (2), Desmond Palmer, Pitt (6); Javonte Lipsey, North Carolina (8)
4x100 relay – NC State (4): Nyheim Hines, Jonathan Addison, Shannon Patterson, Quashawn Cunningham; Florida State (10): Raheem Robinson, Darryl Haraway, Edward Clarke, Jamal Pitts
4x400 relay – Clemson (4): Cordell Lamb, Michael Cheeks, Jorel Bellafonte, Jeffrey Green; North Carolina (23): Kenny Selmon, Javonte Lipsey, Cory Nicholls, Ceo Ways; Pitt (24): Donnell Taylor, Chris Tate, Brylan Slay, Desmond Palmer
Pole vault – Chris Uhle, Virginia Tech (11); Torben Laidig, Virginia Tech (12); Deakin Volz, Virginia Tech (13); Brad Johnson, Virginia Tech (24)
Long jump – Jonathan Addison, NC State (1), Stefan Brits, Florida State (8)
Triple jump – Ben Williams, Louisville (10), John-Patrick Friday, Miami (14)
Shot put – Filip Mihaljevic, Virginia (3); Oghenakpobo Efekoro, Virginia (16), Isaiah Simmons, Miami (20), Gian Ragonesi, Miami (24)
Discus – Filip Mihaljevic, Virginia (3); Marek Barta, Virginia Tech (12); Jordan Young, Virginia (17)
Hammer – Tomas Kruzliak, Virginia Tech (15)
Javelin – Matija Muhar, Virginia Tech (5)

(NCAA qualifying placement in parenthesis)

400 meters – Shakima Wimbley, Miami (2); Margaret Bamgbose, Notre Dame (10); Aiyanna Stiverne, Miami (16) 
800 meters – Anima Banks, Duke (1); Hanna Green, Virginia Tech (2)
1,500 meters – Madison Granger, Duke (19)
3,000 meters steeplechase – Danielle Winslow, Boston College (9); Blake Bridget, Florida State (17)
10,000 meters – Shaylyn Tuite, Syracuse (10); Cleo Boyd, Virginia (15); Margo Malone, Syracuse (23)
100 hurdles – Ebony Morrison, Miami (1); Alexis Perry, NC State (4); Nicole Setterington, Florida State (9); Kaila Barber, Notre Dame (10)
400 hurdles – Kaila Barber, Notre Dame (5); 
4x100 – Miami (6): Shakima Wimbley, Carolyn Brown, Aiyanna Stiverne, Ebony Morrison; Clemson (10): Torie Robinson, Deja Parrish, Ranee Ricketts, Taylor Williams; Florida State (18): Nicole Setterington, Shauna Helps, Jande Pierce, Der’Renae Freeman
4x400 – Notre Dame (11): Parker English, Kaila Barber, Jordan Shead, Margaret Bamgbose; Duke (19): Teddi Maslowski, Madeline Kopp, MacKenzie Kerr, Madeline Price; Miami (21): Anna Runia, Aiyanne Stiverne, Brittny Ellis, Shakima Wimbley 
High jump – Mimi Land, Clemson (4); Dakota Dailey-Harris, Miami (10)
Pole vault – Alysha Newman, Miami (4); Megan Clark, Duke (9); Madison Heath, Duke (10)
Long jump – Alexis Perry, NC State (8); Der’Renae Freeman, Florida State (9); Jogaile Petrokaite, Florida State (10); Mimi Land, Clemson (17)
Triple jump – Anasterasia Terrell, Clemson (14)
Shot put – Emmonnie Henderson, Louisville (19)
Discus – Kellion Knibb, Florida State (1), Sasha Lebert, Florida State (10); Emmonnie Henderson, Louisville (15)
Hammer – Precious Ogunleye, Miami (17), Katja Vangsnes, Florida State (19)
Javelin – Jessie Merckle, Wake Forest (6); Sabine Kopplin, Virginia Tech (20)
Heptathlon – Grete Sadeiko, Florida State (14); Carly Loefffel (20); Teddi Maslowski, Duke (22)