ACC Track & Field: Awards Announced For 2015 Outdoor Season

Clemson, FSU lead way with three honorees each; two ACC record-holders recognized

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Clemson and Florida State head the list of 2015 Atlantic Coast Conference Outdoor Track and Field postseason honorees with three each, as voted upon by the league’s head coaches and announced Friday morning.

Clemson junior sprinter Tevin Hester was voted the 2015 ACC Men’s Outdoor Track Performer of the Year, while the Tigers’ Deja Parrish earned ACC Women’s Freshman of the Year honors. Mark Elliott was recognized as the ACC Women’s Coach of the Year.

Florida State senior distance runner Colleen Quigley was named the 2015 ACC Women’s Track Performer of the Year. The Seminoles’ Kendal Williams received the nod as ACC Men’s Freshman of the Year, while Bob Braman was voted the ACC Men’s Coach of the Year.

ACC Men’s Field Performer of the Year honors went to NC State senior Jonathan Addison, while Virginia Tech sophomore Irena Sediva was voted the ACC Women’s Field Performer of the Year.

Both FSU’s Quigley (9:29.32 in the 3,000-meters steeplechase) and Virginia Tech’s Sediva (58.76 meters in the javelin) set new ACC women’s records during the 2015 NCAA Championships last week at Eugene, Oregon.

Clemson’s Hester earned the men’s Most Valuable Track Performer award at last month’s ACC Championships after matching the nation’s top all-conditions time in the 100 meters (9.87) and setting a meet record in the 200 meters (20.18). The Oxford, North Carolina native went on to earn first-team All-America honors in both events at the NCAA Championships with a sixth-place finish in each.

Florida State’s Quigley not only broke her own ACC record with her dazzling steeplechase run in the NCAA Championships, she posted the third-fastest collegiate time ever. In addition to claiming an NCAA title, the St. Louis native also took an ACC Championships gold medal in the women’s 1,500 meters with a time of 4:14.06. Her time of 4:11.61 in the 1,500 on April 16 at the Mt. SAC relays ranked third nationally for the 2015 season.

NC State’s Addison, a multi-talented student-athlete who competes in both field and running events, made his mark in the NCAA Championships with a fourth-place long jump of 7.99 meters. That ranked as a season best for the Raleigh, North Carolina native, who placed among the top four in four events at the ACC Championships, including silver medal showings in both the long jump and the high jump.

Virginia Tech’s Sediva delivered her clutch ACC-record javelin throw on her final attempt to take first place at the NCAA Championships, breaking her own mark of 58.66 meters she set in winning the gold medal at the ACC Championships on May 15. The Pribram, Czech Republic native managed five legal throws in her six rounds at the ACC Championships, and every throw – including her then-conference, school and facility-record toss on her final attempt – would have led the field.

Florida State’s Williams’ wind-aided time of 9.98 in the men’s 100-meter dash placed fifth at the NCAA Championships, and his season-best time of 20.26 in the 200 meters in the ACC finals earned a No. 6 national ranking. Williams was also a first-team All-American in the 200, placing eighth at the NCAAs. He was the only freshman in the country to qualify for both the 100 and 200 finals at the NCAA Championships. The Jacksonville, Florida native was also a vital part of the Seminoles’ 4x100 relay team that took the gold medal in the ACC Championships and placed ninth at the NCAAs.

Clemson’s Parrish claimed All-ACC honors with a sixth-place time of 23.21 in the women’s 200 at the ACC Championships, and was also part of the Tigers’ 4x100 gold medal relay team. The freshman from Fort Lauderdale, Florida added a ninth-place finish in the 200 meters at the ACCs and was part of the Tigers’ 4x100 and 4x400 relay teams that competed in the NCAAs.

Florida State’s Braman picked up his 19th ACC Coach of the Year award in cross country, indoor track & field and outdoor track & field. The Seminole men led the scoring in the ACC Championships for the 12th time in 14 years and the 10th time under Braman’s watch, and then followed up by tying for 19th place in the team standings at the 2015 NCAA Championships.

Elliott, in his second season at Clemson, led the Tigers to their fifth ACC  Women’s Track and Field Championship in the past six seasons.  Clemson swept both the ACC Indoor and Outdoor Women’s titles in 2015, and Elliott was named the ACC Coach of the Year for both seasons. This year’s women’s outdoor title was the Tigers’ seventh overall.

Clemson’s Hester was also voted the 2015 ACC Men’s Indoor Track Performer of the Year, and FSU’s Williams received the ACC Men’s Freshman of the Year Award following the indoor season.

ACC Men’s Outdoor Track Performer of the Year – Tevin Hester, Clemson
ACC Men’s Outdoor Field Performer of the Year – Jonathan Addison, NC State
ACC Men’s Outdoor Track and Field Freshman of the Year – Kendal Williams, Florida State
ACC Men’s Outdoor Track and Field Coach of the Year – Bob Braman, Florida State
ACC Women’s Outdoor Track Performer of the Year – Colleen Quigley, Florida State
ACC Women’s Outdoor Field Performer of the Year – Irena Sediva, Virginia Tech
ACC Women’s Outdoor Track and Field Freshman of the Year – Deja Parrish, Clemson
ACC Women’s Outdoor Coach of the Year – Mark Elliott, Clemson