ACC Swimming & Diving Championships: Day 8

NC State Wins Second Straight Title
For the second straight year, NC State is the ACC Men's Swimming & Diving Champion.

The Wolfpack won 11 of the 21 event championships – seven individuals and four relays – and a total of 24 medals en route to the victory, the 23rd outright conference title in program history.

NC State finished the meet in first place with 1402 points. Louisville finished second with 1067.5 points, and North Carolina came in third with 897.5.

Virginia Tech finished in fourth (892), followed by Georgia Tech (776), Virginia (737), Notre Dame (678), Duke (643), Florida State (606), Pitt (345), Boston College (192), and Miami (92).

Virginia Tech's Brandon Fiala Named Most Valuable Swimmer
Virginia Tech's Brandon Fiala set two meet records to go with his three medals, two gold and one silver. The ACC coaches voted him as the 2016 ACC Championship Most Valuable Men's Swimmer for his stellar performance.

"It's great personally, but it's better for me to do it for Virginia Tech," said Fiala. "This is a team effort."

The senior's qualifying time of 51.86 in the 100 breaststroke set the meet record.

Gold Medals
200 Individual Medley (1:42.26)
200 Breaststroke (1:52.87) - Meet Record

Silver Medal
100 Breaststroke (52.28)

Record-Breaking Week
There will need to be some changes made to the ACC record book following the 2016 ACC Men's swimming and Diving Championship.

Ten new marks were set: five ACC, and five meet records. NC State set six and Louisville and Virginia Tech set two each.

Records set at the 2016 ACC Men's Swimming & Diving Championship

ACC Records
200 Medley Relay (1:23.19) – NC State (Stuart, Hren, Bilis, Held)
100 Backstroke (45.28) – Grigory Tarasevich, Louisville
200 Backstroke (1:39.28) – Grigory Tarasevich, Louisville
100 Freestyle (41.69) – Ryan Held, NC State
200 Butterfly (1:41.42) – Christian McCurdy, NC State

Meet Records
800 Freestyle Relay (6:12.76) – NC State (Held, Bilis, Ress, Dahl)
50 Freestyle (18.92) – Ryan Held, NC State
100 Breaststroke (51.86) – Brandon Fiala, Virginia Tech
200 Breaststroke (1:52.87) – Brandon Fiala, Virginia Tech
400 Freestyle Relay (2:48.52) – NC State (Bilis, Held, Bonk, Dahl)

400 Freestyle Relay
The finale of the 2016 championship was another victory for NC State, as the team set a new meet record in the 400 freestyle relay with a time of 2:48.42.

The Wolfpack squad of Simonas Bilis, Ryan Held, Joseph Bonk and Soeren Dahl led the entire race. Bilis set the tone early, taking the lead with a 100 freestyle time of 41.76.

Notre Dame took gold in 2:52.18, followed by North Carolina in third (2:53.12).

200 Butterfly
NC State's Christian McCurdy set a new conference record in the 200 butterfly. The senior grabbed the lead in the first 50 with a 22.75 and never looked back, finishing in 1:41.42.

Zach Harting of Louisville finished second in 1:42.95, and North Carolina's Ben Colley took third with a time of 1:43.55.

200 Breaststroke
Brandon Fiala of Virginia Tech broke the meet and pool record that he set this morning in the 200 breaststroke, posting a time of 1:52.87.

"It was big for the entire team," said Fiala. My goal was to provide some energy for our team in the next couple events."

Virginia's Yannick Kaeser finished in 1:53.41 for silver, and Carlos Claverie took third with a time of 1:53.77.

100 Freestyle
NC State swept the 100 freestyle and set another conference record in the event. Ryan Held took gold in 41.69, coming from behind to beat his teammate Simonas Bilis.

"I could definitily see (Bilis) right next to me," said Held. "I knew it was just between us two."

Bilis was the two-time conference champion in the event, finishing in 42.16. NC State's Soeren Dahl finished third with a time of 42.85.

200 Backstroke
Grigory Tarasevich of Louisville set a new conference record in the 200 backstroke, winning the event in 1:39.28.

NC State's Hennessey Stuart, the 2015 ACC champion in the event, was right behind Tarasevich, posting an NCAA automatic qualifying time of 1:39.58.

Justin Ress of NC State rounded out the podium, taking third in 1:40.57.

1650 Freestyle
NC State's Anton Ipsen won the 1650 freestyle for the second straight year, finishing in 14:44.96.

The Wolfpack also took silver, with Ipsen's teammate Adam Linker posting a time of 14:51.47.

Samuel Magnan of Virginia finished third in 15:06.45.

Countdown to the Finals
NC State holds a sizable lead over Louisville as the 2016 Atlantic Coast Conference Men's Swimming Championships head into their last day at the Greensboro Aquatic center.

After this morning’s prelims in swimming events, tonight’s 6 p.m. finals in six men's events will determine the 2016 ACC Champion. The NC State men are seeking their second consecutive ACC championship and 23rd outright. Last year's ACC title was the first for the Wolfpack since 1992.

Through 14 swimming and diving events, NC State sits in first place with a 142.5 point lead over Louisville. North Carolina has 639.5 points, followed by Virginia Tech (600), Virginia (483), and Georgia Tech (465).

Men's final events scheduled for this evening include the 1650 freestyle, 200 backstroke, 100 freestyle, 200 breaststroke, 200 butterfly, and 400 freestyle relay. The Florida Swim Network will live stream their College Swim Day show at 5 p.m. before the finals. The evening session will be broadcast on ESPN3 starting at 6 p.m.

NC State's Simonas Bilis broke his own conference record in the 100 freestyle, posting a time of 41.77, .01 seconds faster than his old record.

Virginia Tech's Brandon Fiala set a new meet and pool record in the 200 breaststroke, finishing in 1:52.96. Hennessey Stuart of NC State also broke a pool record, posting a 1:39.76 in the 200 backstroke.

NC State's Christian McCurdy (200 butterfly) also posted a top qualifying time this morning.